![]() |
Free-kick from the 35yard line
My back judge hands the ball to the kickers on the 40, counts the players and heads to his sideline. After getting set he notices the kickers on now lined-up on the 35 and before he does anything they on-side kick the ball. Can K move five yards back and kick from the 35? Would this be a foul? Would the neutral zone change to the 45?
We did not stop the play before the kick and R recovered so we just moved on. Any ideas? |
As I recall a similar situation occured a year or so ago in a game our assoc. covered. I am not looking at a rule book but if memory serves the NZ on a free kick is established and therefore, unless a penalty has changed the free kick line, the ball in the above example must still travel to the 50. Also, it may be an infraction to move the ball back..
someone with a rule book help us out here, wont see mine until tonight... |
This is a free-kick infraction. The ball can be placed anywhere on the free kick line in between the 9 yd marks, but has to stay on the 40 yd line unless moved by a penalty. Sorry if the terminology isn't 100% correct.
|
6-1-1
K's free-kick line is: a. Its 40-yard line for a kickoff 6-1-2 A free kick shall be made from any point between the inbounds lines and on K's free-kick line. Penalty: Free-kick infraction - 5 yards |
schmitty is correct.
ART. 1 For any free kick, a free-kick line, corresponding to a scrimmage line, is established for each team. These lines are always 10 yards apart. Unless moved by a penalty, K's free-kick line is: a. Its 40-yard line for a kickoff. b. Its 20-yard line after a safety. c. The yard line through the spot of the catch after a fair catch. d. The yard line through the spot of an awarded fair catch. ART. 2 A free kick shall be made from any point between the inbounds lines an on K's free-kick line.....Once designated, K must kick from that spot......In an emergency......the referee has authority to move the ball to a playable line, in which case, both free-kick lines are moved to compensate. PENALTY: Free-kick infraction (Art. 2) - (S7-19) - 5 yards So, this is definitely a foul. Apparently (because of the signals) it is a dead-ball foul too. Whenever I am BJ, I make sure I know where the kicker is kicking from before I give him the ball - they don't always want to kick from the middle. Also, in pre-game, the R should ask the coach about any unusual plays - this would definitely be the time to make sure the coach knows that that is not a legal play. |
Although, if K really wanted to kick from their 35, it wouldn't be too hard to do so - encroachment. However, R could always decline.
|
Quote:
Actually, it's anywhere between the inbounds (hash) marks. The nine yard marks are typically the tops of the numbers. |
As all have agreed such a free kick is an infraction. there is no case book example but the Redding book says:
"K22 places the tee for a kickoff on the 39 yard line. RULING: This is not legal. The covering official should tell K22 to place the tee on the 40 yard line. A kick that is made from other than the free kick line is a free kick infraction which is a dead ball foul with a 5 yard penalty. A fee kick cannot be made from behind the free kick line." |
[QUOTE=whitehat;626916]...there is no case book example but the Redding book says:QUOTE]
Redding book? What's that? |
[QUOTE=stegenref;626975]
Quote:
|
[QUOTE=stegenref;626975]
Quote:
here is a link. Honig's Whistle Stop Online Store - Products |
Why is it called the Redding guide if not written by Redding?
WTF? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm. |