The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
Thanks Mike...Does the clock stop once the kick comes off the foot? after it crosses the line of scrimmage? I'm sorry if this is a "stupid" question.

-Josh
It's a scrimmage kick. The clock stops when the ball becomes dead. It is the same as a punt.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesears View Post
Once the ball becomes dead. If it was blocked and somebody recovered it whlie laying on the ground that would kill the clock. I didn't see the game and haven't had a chance to see replays so I really don't know what happened. All I know is that UNI got two chances and didn't make either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB View Post
It's a scrimmage kick. The clock stops when the ball becomes dead. It is the same as a punt.
Thanks Gentleman...I apologize for my ignorance of football. The ball was recovered after the first blocked FG by UNI (actually Iowa ran away from it)

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 11:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
The call was definitely the right call. I was wondering about the clock status. There was 1 second left on the clock after the first kick (started with :07 not :06) so it was very close. Smart move by UNI. Too bad they couldn't convert.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 81
In Fed rules, the clock would start on the ready.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalStripes View Post
In Fed rules, the clock would start on the ready.
Are you sure the clock would stop at all? Do you have a rule reference for that?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 81
Your right. Clock doesn't stop. It keeps running.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 05, 2009, 11:32pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
In NF, the clock would not have stopped at all on that play.

An Iowa defender could have picked it up, or fell on it, but got away. A UNI player picked it up and immediately was tackled. Then Iowa blocked the next FG also to secure the win.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 06, 2009, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalStripes View Post
In Fed rules, the clock would start on the ready.
I think the first FG attempt was on 1st down so the clock would not have stopped.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 06, 2009, 02:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
Thanks Gentleman...I apologize for my ignorance of football. The ball was recovered after the first blocked FG by UNI (actually Iowa ran away from it)

-Josh
Players are taught to run away from a blocked FG when it will deliver a win, we usually use Leon lett and his thanksgiving day blunder be a good example!!

Only bad things happen when big lineman try to pick up a loose ball.

Headlinesman or Line Judge in 4 and 5 man mechanics has the line of scrimmage and determines wether the kick crosses the line of scrimmage.

It looks like they got it right!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 06, 2009, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
I learned something this morning about this call. As some of you that watched the game live would have noticed a VERY long delay by the replay official reviewing the play to make sure the ball did not cross the LOS. Well, as I found out this morning from press box personnel, this was because the replay official was looking up the run and literally reading it to the ref on field There was a reason they got this ruling right.

It's funny because I thought it was an extended time to just be making sure the ball did not cross the LOS.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 06, 2009, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by movingthechains View Post

Headlinesman or Line Judge in 4 and 5 man mechanics has the line of scrimmage and determines wether the kick crosses the line of scrimmage.

That's why the L stays on the LOS until he is certain that the ball has crossed it. This is a perfect example of why we do that (5-man).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 06, 2009, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
That's why the L stays on the LOS until he is certain that the ball has crossed it.
We have the H stay on the LOS and the L goes downfield at the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 06, 2009, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaybird View Post
We have the H stay on the LOS and the L goes downfield at the snap.
Correct, Grasshopper.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 06, 2009, 02:45pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
It is all about terminology.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaybird View Post
We have the H stay on the LOS and the L goes downfield at the snap.
Actually the LJ goes down field the L stays on the line.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 07, 2009, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Actually the LJ goes down field the L stays on the line.

Peace
JR - That's what I meant. I use L and LJ for my wing abbreviations.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headband in the ASU/A&M game today Kelvin green Basketball 9 Wed Apr 01, 2009 02:57am
Interesting Play in Iowa Game Gimlet25id Basketball 6 Fri Feb 15, 2008 07:26pm
First game today 5 sport ref Softball 9 Thu Mar 23, 2006 09:27am
Rams Game Today Smoke Football 4 Tue Oct 08, 2002 11:26pm
First Game Today [UGH!] NYSSO/ASABlue Softball 0 Wed Apr 04, 2001 08:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1