The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Safety or Illegal touching?? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54541-safety-illegal-touching.html)

bigda65 Thu Sep 03, 2009 01:52pm

Safety or Illegal touching??
 
4th and forever on your own 22 yard line, ball is snapped over the punters head. He picks the ball up on the 4yard line, sees he cant get the punt off, and kicks it out of the back of the end zone.

This is just a safety isnt it?

Could anything else happen where illegal touching be called and receiving team be given the ball at the 4 yard line?

bossman72 Thu Sep 03, 2009 02:08pm

if he picks the ball up, then kicks it, it's a legal punt and would just be a safety.

There is no illegal touching. NCAA rule for illegal kicking carries a loss of down, so if the ball was illegally kicked, it would be R's ball at the 2, 1st and 10. NFHS does not have a LOD, so if the penalty was accepted, 4th down would be replayed from the 2.

NorCalRef12 Thu Sep 03, 2009 02:15pm

Not sure why this would be illegal touching. It couldn't even be an illegal kick because K is allowed to kick the ball in this situation.

I don't see any option R has other than accepting the results of the play. K will be free kicking from it's own 20 yard line.

ChickenOfNC Thu Sep 03, 2009 02:33pm

NFHS - nothing but a safety.

If he'd have kicked it while it was loose, then illegal kick from the spot, half the distance, replay 4th down, or decline and safety.

VALJ Thu Sep 03, 2009 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC (Post 623780)
NFHS - nothing but a safety.

If he'd have kicked it while it was loose, then illegal kick from the spot, half the distance, replay 4th down, or decline and safety.

And if the spot of the illegal kick is in the end zone, we've got a safety either way.

ChickenOfNC Thu Sep 03, 2009 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VALJ (Post 623787)
And if the spot of the illegal kick is in the end zone, we've got a safety either way.

You betcha

JugglingReferee Thu Sep 03, 2009 04:30pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bigda65 (Post 623771)
4th and forever on your own 22 yard line, ball is snapped over the punters head. He picks the ball up on the 4yard line, sees he cant get the punt off, and kicks it out of the back of the end zone.

This is just a safety isnt it?

Could anything else happen where illegal touching be called and receiving team be given the ball at the 4 yard line?

CANADIAN RULING:

Safety.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1