The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Love kick plays.... (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54240-love-kick-plays.html)

dalewalk Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:59pm

Tb?
 
Sorry folks, I'm new at this so forgive what might be a rookie question. Why wouldn't this be an immediate Touchback once the ball and R crossed the goal line? Isn't it killed right there and penalty marked off from 20?

Welpe Sun Aug 09, 2009 03:25pm

Good question. It is not a touch back because it was not a kick that crossed the goal line. Once the R player possessed the kick, it was no longer a kick and instead became a running play.

Check out the Rule 2 definition of kicks:

2-24 Kicks:

ART. 2 . . . A kick ends when a player gains possession or when the ball becomes dead while not in player possession.

Then look at Rule 6-3-1:

ART. 1 . . . It is a touchback if any free kick or scrimmage kick:
a. Which is not a scoring attempt or which is a grounded three-point fieldgoal
attempt, breaks the plane of R’s goal line, unless R chooses a spot of
first touching by K.

VALJ Sun Aug 09, 2009 09:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dalewalk (Post 619644)
Sorry folks, I'm new at this so forgive what might be a rookie question. Why wouldn't this be an immediate Touchback once the ball and R crossed the goal line? Isn't it killed right there and penalty marked off from 20?

I agree with Welpe - great question. He quoted the rule correctly.

Remember, a kick is a kick until the play is over or until someone possesses it. Once it's possessed, if it comes loose, it's a fumble.

dalewalk Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:06pm

Momentum
 
I guess the momentum part led me to believe it would be a TB if he was falling back into the EZ by momentum. It appeared that he didn't go in deliberately.

Welpe Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:30pm

The momentum rule doesn't cause the ball to become dead in the endzone. The momentum rule applies only IF the ball becomes dead in the endzone. For example, during a scrimmage kick, R22 catches the kick at the 4 and his momentum carries him into the endzone. Once in the endzone, he slips and falls with the ball in possession, which makes the ball dead in his possession in the endzone. At this point, you would have a touchback (instead of a safety).

8-5-2 is your reference.

bisonlj Mon Aug 10, 2009 06:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 619761)
The momentum rule doesn't cause the ball to become dead in the endzone. The momentum rule applies only IF the ball becomes dead in the endzone. For example, during a scrimmage kick, R22 catches the kick at the 4 and his momentum carries him into the endzone. Once in the endzone, he slips and falls with the ball in possession, which makes the ball dead in his possession in the endzone. At this point, you would have a touchback (instead of a safety).

8-5-2 is your reference.

No, you don't have a touchback. You have a ball put in play at the spot of the catch which is the 4 yard line. This would normally be a safety but the momentum "exception" give R the ball at the 4 instead.

Welpe Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:26am

Whoops! You are correct, of course...don't know what I was thinking there. :eek:

mbyron Mon Aug 10, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 619797)
Whoops! You are correct, of course...don't know what I was thinking there. :eek:

Somebody put the idea 'touchback' in your head... :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1