The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   BIB and safety (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54194-bib-safety.html)

bossman72 Sat Aug 01, 2009 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 618369)
As was said in the other thread, BIB should be flagged if it occurs:
(a) at the point of attack, no matter how severe, since it then confers an unfair advantage, or
(b) when it rises to the level of a PF, no matter where it occurs, since it then becomes a safety issue.

That makes sense to me. Notice that these two principles are quite different: one doesn't care how severe it is, the other doesn't care where it occurs.

BIB can be called on grounds of safety (which is always important), but the foul is defined independently of that concern.

Normally, when a BIB occurs away from the play, it's generally a cheap shot

bigjohn Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:27am

and should be a PF for unnecessary roughness and not a BIB foul. It is not really a block if it is a hit away from the ball.

Da Official Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 618369)
As was said in the other thread, BIB should be flagged if it occurs:
(a) at the point of attack, no matter how severe, since it then confers an unfair advantage, or
(b) when it rises to the level of a PF, no matter where it occurs, since it then becomes a safety issue.

That makes sense to me. Notice that these two principles are quite different: one doesn't care how severe it is, the other doesn't care where it occurs.

BIB can be called on grounds of safety (which is always important), but the foul is defined independently of that concern.

Question: A1 takes a handoff from tTeam B's 40 yd line and runs to Team B endzone. Prior to reaching the endzone at the 5yd line, A2 pushes B2 to the ground from behind at Team B's 30 yd line (no effect on the play). A1 then crosses the endzone. A flag is thrown for the illegal block.

Assuming the official beleived the contact was aggressive and unnecessary, is the ruling a BIB with a 10 yard penalty or can you have some type of personal foul penalty with a 15 yard penalty? In either case what is the spot of enforcement? Is the TD disallowed?

Interested in both NF and NCAA rules....

Thanks!

mbyron Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:26pm

If it's a cheap shot, I'd say PF.

Welpe Mon Aug 03, 2009 12:42pm

I agree with Lord Byron, that is a personal foul for unecessary roughness, hitting somebody obviously out of the play. This is for NFHS...don't have the exact rule number handy as my books are all packed.

VALJ Mon Aug 03, 2009 01:00pm

Personal foul. If a live ball foul as in your post, enforce from the spot of the foul with no TD. If it's a DB foul, though, since it's after the TD scoring play but before the RTP, B can have the foul enforced on the try or carried over to the kickoff.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1