The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Center Eligible? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/52880-center-eligible.html)

Simbio Fri Apr 17, 2009 07:34pm

Center Eligible?
 
If the center was the last man on the end of the line, wearing an eligible number, can he be eligible for a pass?

jaybird Fri Apr 17, 2009 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Simbio (Post 596531)
If the center was the last man on the end of the line, wearing an eligible number, can he be eligible for a pass?

If he's on the end of the line and wearing an eligible number, he is an eligible receiver whether he's the snapper or not. If he's on the end of the line, how could he be the center of anything? Forget the "coach speak" of the word center.

dumbref Sun Apr 19, 2009 04:16pm

If I understand the new numbering exception rules, this would be a foul at the snap if the snapper is under the exception rule. The snapper must be between the ends. Some variations of the old swinging gate may become illegal. I’ll be interested to see how shifts might affect eligibility in this set.

daggo66 Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dumbref (Post 596727)
If I understand the new numbering exception rules, this would be a foul at the snap if the snapper is under the exception rule. The snapper must be between the ends. Some variations of the old swinging gate may become illegal. I’ll be interested to see how shifts might affect eligibility in this set.

Where do you come up with the "snapper must be between the ends?"

dumbref Mon Apr 20, 2009 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by daggo66 (Post 596830)
Where do you come up with the "snapper must be between the ends?"

I know it’s a dangerous source – Referee Magazine.

JugglingReferee Mon Apr 20, 2009 08:09pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Simbio (Post 596531)
If the centre was the last man on the end of the line, wearing an eligible number, can he be eligible for a pass?

CANADIAN RULING:

Affirmative.

Ref Ump Welsch Tue Apr 21, 2009 07:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dumbref (Post 596727)
If I understand the new numbering exception rules, this would be a foul at the snap if the snapper is under the exception rule. The snapper must be between the ends. Some variations of the old swinging gate may become illegal. I’ll be interested to see how shifts might affect eligibility in this set.

From what I'm gathering from my "research" on the topic of the numbering exception, the only thing they did with the rule was clarify what a scrimmage kick is. I don't think they've completely outlawed the swinging gate offenses by rewording the scrimmage kick definition. If they did (and perhaps inadvertently), then there's going to be more coaches upset at the 11-man game than those using the A-11 offense. Coaches in the 8-man game would care less because their numbering exception would still be in place (I would hope so, otherwise there'll be screaming and gnashing of the teeth!).

Forksref Tue Apr 21, 2009 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dumbref (Post 596902)
I know it’s a dangerous source – Referee Magazine.

or a coach...or a father...or a fan...

Ref Ump Welsch Tue Apr 21, 2009 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forksref (Post 597000)
or a coach...or a father...or a fan...

or the Saturday morning armchair "referee" reading the ucking flocal newspaper and reading too much into everything about the game he saw the night before. :rolleyes:

dumbref Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forksref (Post 597000)
or a coach...or a father...or a fan...

This is how the Referee article reads:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”

This seemed very specific and creditable as opposed to some of their interpretations. I’ll let you decide

Ref Ump Welsch Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dumbref (Post 597041)
This is how the Referee article reads:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”

This seemed very specific and creditable as opposed to some of their interpretations. I’ll let you decide

Hmmm...I'll have to log onto the Fed's website and see if they have the specific language published there. The only thing that is available to the general public is that the language was clarified, and I was relying on memory the fact they clarified the definition of a scrimmage kick. Maybe the more specific language is password protected to keep us on edge till this summer when we all get our books.

dumbref Tue Apr 21, 2009 02:10pm

OK, during the afternoon sit down (perfect place for Referee Mag) I re-read the article. Here is the piece I missed.

“On fourth down or trys, the kicking team may use the numbering exception when it sets or shifts into either type of scrimmage-kick formation”

Since the winging gate is used mostly on trys, there shouldn’t be a major difference. It would only apply on downs 1, 2 & 3. My bad!

BktBallRef Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch (Post 597045)
Hmmm...I'll have to log onto the Fed's website and see if they have the specific language published there. The only thing that is available to the general public is that the language was clarified, and I was relying on memory the fact they clarified the definition of a scrimmage kick. Maybe the more specific language is password protected to keep us on edge till this summer when we all get our books.

The actual rule semantics are not yet published on the NFHS site.

Robert Goodman Wed Apr 22, 2009 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dumbref (Post 597041)
This is how the Referee article reads:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”

Wow! So if you're in a scrimmage kick formation, you'll need 6 line players wearing 50-79? (Or 1 fewer than the number of linemen if you have an 8-man line, etc.?) And neither of the ends will be allowed to wear eligible numbers? Or does that apply only if they become "the kicking team" during the subsequent down?

I suspect Referee goofed.

Robert in the Bronx

KWH Wed Apr 22, 2009 08:51pm

Robert-
I think perhaps you need to read it again.
Remember the numbering requirment on a typical scrimmage play requires a minimum of at least 5 lineman to be numbered 50-79.
The new 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down exception allows the snapper to wear #35 however there is still a requirment for a minimum of at least 4 lineman be number 50-79 if the exception is utilized.

Unless I am reading something incorrectly the REFEREE article is correct...

Bob M. Thu Apr 23, 2009 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KWH (Post 597333)
Robert-
I think perhaps you need to read it again.
Remember the numbering requirment on a typical scrimmage play requires a minimum of at least 5 lineman to be numbered 50-79.
The new 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down exception allows the snapper to wear #35 however there is still a requirment for a minimum of at least 4 lineman be number 50-79 if the exception is utilized.

Unless I am reading something incorrectly the REFEREE article is correct...

REPLY: Kevin...I saw the same thing as Robert did whe I read the REFEREE article. I think what he's pointing out is that REFEREE neglected to consider the ends. So in fact they should have said is probably:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman other than those players on the end of the line may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”

HossHumard Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 596937)
CANADIAN RULING:

Affirmative.

I believe it's OK at Cdn. amateur but not at Cdn. pro. I know this because a couple of years ago some of our CFL guys were working a HS game locally and flagged this play because it's NOT legit at pro not knowing it was OK in amateur.

Yes, we had an interesting discussion with the coach afterwards.....doo'oh!

JugglingReferee Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HossHumard (Post 597423)
I believe it's OK at Cdn. amateur but not at Cdn. pro. I know this because a couple of years ago some of our CFL guys were working a HS game locally and flagged this play because it's NOT legit at pro not knowing it was OK in amateur.

Yes, we had an interesting discussion with the coach afterwards.....doo'oh!

Yes, my posts refer to amateur rulings.

KWH Thu Apr 23, 2009 04:44pm

OK, I see said the blind man!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M. (Post 597414)
REPLY: Kevin...I saw the same thing as Robert did whe I read the REFEREE article. I think what he's pointing out is that REFEREE neglected to consider the ends. So in fact they should have said is probably:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman other than those players on the end of the line may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”

BobM and Robert:

My apologies to Robert!
Sometimes you can't see the forest thru the trees!!!

Since both the Definition of Scrimmage Kick and 7-2-5 are being re-written, thus, I would expect to find somewhere in 7-2-5 something like:

On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive and that player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. He remains an ineligible reciever throught the down unless the opponent touchs the ball. Additionally, at the snap, at least four A lineman must be numbered 50-79 inclusive.

This is the intent of the rule change. If he wording does not come out as clear as expected I suspect SRH may have wording to correct it in time for the 2010 rule book. :cool:

Robert Goodman Thu Apr 23, 2009 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M. (Post 597414)
REPLY: Kevin...I saw the same thing as Robert did whe I read the REFEREE article. I think what he's pointing out is that REFEREE neglected to consider the ends. So in fact they should have said is probably:

“On first, second or third down, when the kicking team sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation with a holder, only one lineman other than those players on the end of the line may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. That player must snap the ball and must be positioned between the ends. …”

But then it would become redundant! "...one lineman other than those players on the end of the line...and must be positioned between the ends...."

So maybe it should have said:
Quote:

...of all players on A's line, only those on its ends and the snapper may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive.
That would allow for the possibility that a player on the end of A's line and the snapper would have the same identity. But we still don't know if that's what Fed adopted.

Robert in the Bronx

KWH Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:28pm

Robert;

In response to your suggested wording of:

[B]...of all players on A's line, only those on its ends and the snapper may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. [/B]

I guess I remain confused. Why would you want to restrict say the "traditional left guard" from wearing #22 if his team was to meet all the other requirments of a scrimmage kick formation including: a holder, a kicker, a "covered up snapper" wearing #3, and four other lineman wearing 50-79 and these four lineman are located ANYWHERE on the LOS?

Restated, I see no reason why, as long as you have four lineman wearing 50-79, the end can not be #79 and the left guard #22 and the covered up center #3. Obviusly #79, #3, & #22 would be ineligible, however since they are kicking a field goal it normally would not be an issue.


Am I still missing something?: :confused:

ajmc Sat Apr 25, 2009 01:45pm

Remembering back to the reasoning given when the "numbering exception" was introduced, which was in part; That at a time when the perception was that the more gifted athletes, by nature of their skills and abilities very often were assigned "eligible" numbers, as they normally performed in the "skill" offensive and defensive positions, the objective was to expand the opportunity for these players to be more useable in scrimmage kick situations.

Over time it seems the emphasis may have evolved from using these athletic talents to better support the kicking game, to having those talents available for use in their primary purpose in kicking situations.

Subject to what the actuall wording of these revision turns out to be, it seems the effort of the revision may be to continue allowing gifted athletes to participate in the kicking game, but to redirect the focus of limiting those talents towards supporting the kicking game rather than other offensive capabilities.

daggo66 Sun Apr 26, 2009 01:17am

It's not about getting more playing time for gifted athletes. It's about having a long snapper that may not be your regular snapper. Only 23 words to state the obvious.

Mike L Sun Apr 26, 2009 08:45am

I don't know about you guys, but I'm wondering where this whole "gifted athletes" thing comes from and the semi-veiled suggestion that the widebody big numbers somehow don't fit that description. I've seen some very gifted players at those positions that simply dominate the game.

ajmc Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike L (Post 597844)
I don't know about you guys, but I'm wondering where this whole "gifted athletes" thing comes from and the semi-veiled suggestion that the widebody big numbers somehow don't fit that description. I've seen some very gifted players at those positions that simply dominate the game.

Sometimes "sensitivity" can get kind of silly. The only semi-veiled suggestion exists deep in your mind. As a former Center (which is what "Snappers" were call many years ago) there was no intent to discredit or slight interior linemen.

I don't know what your problem is daggo66, but I doubt you're anyway near competent to correct my recollections of what the reasoning given for the numbering exception was when it was introduced. Congratulations on being brief, now only if that prevented you from being wrong.

Forksref Sun Apr 26, 2009 02:44pm

I gave up looking for "gifted athlete" in Rule 2 or the index.

It must be in someone's imagination and fits in with their vagaries of explanation. My guess is that it won't be in the new rule book either.

My take on the numbering exception was that it allowed faster players to be on the line and give better punt coverage. Maybe a reputable coach could tell us about that.

As for the rule change, I will wait for the NFHS rule book to come out before trying to understand wordage which none of us have seen. Maybe it will be in the Redding NFHS book which is coming out next month.

Was I brief?

KWH Sun Apr 26, 2009 05:02pm

For the Record
 
The scrimmage kick formation numbering exception was added to the NFHS Rules Book in 1982.
The rationale was to eliminate the need for pull over type jerseys which were considered unsafe.



31 Words :cool:

ajmc Sun Apr 26, 2009 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KWH (Post 597903)
The scrimmage kick formation numbering exception was added to the NFHS Rules Book in 1982.
The rationale was to eliminate the need for pull over type jerseys which were considered unsafe. 31 Words :cool:

Forgive me, grasshopper, but the pull over jerseys were being used to allow players who were regularly positioned as backs, ends and defensive players wearing otherwise eligible numbers to participate, out of position, in scrimmage kick formations. (Granted "gifted athletes" may not have been the best descriptive choice of words. I forgot the extent of nitpicking some will go to.)

Even 31 words, when you don't know what you're talking about, can be too many.

daggo66 Sun Apr 26, 2009 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 597885)
Sometimes "sensitivity" can get kind of silly. The only semi-veiled suggestion exists deep in your mind. As a former Center (which is what "Snappers" were call many years ago) there was no intent to discredit or slight interior linemen.

I don't know what your problem is daggo66, but I doubt you're anyway near competent to correct my recollections of what the reasoning given for the numbering exception was when it was introduced. Congratulations on being brief, now only if that prevented you from being wrong.


True, correcting your recollections would be impossible, as would trying to comprehend the bounds of your narcissism. (17)

Robert Goodman Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KWH (Post 597763)
In response to your suggested wording of:

[B]...of all players on A's line, only those on its ends and the snapper may wear a number other than 50-79 inclusive. [/B]

I guess I remain confused. Why would you want to restrict say the "traditional left guard" from wearing #22 if his team was to meet all the other requirments of a scrimmage kick formation including: a holder, a kicker, a "covered up snapper" wearing #3, and four other lineman wearing 50-79 and these four lineman are located ANYWHERE on the LOS?

Right. I'd filtered my interpret'n thru a coaching mindset, and hadn't been thinking about situations where they'd voluntary give up an eligible receiver.

Wording this is harder than it seemed at first -- and it didn't seem that easy even then! They want the long snapper to count as a wild card toward the total of 5 ineligible numbers, but on downs 1-3 will they allow a shift that leaves that wild card on the end of the line?

Robert in the Bronx

Robert Goodman Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 597885)
As a former Center (which is what "Snappers" were call many years ago)

As they still are, but the rule book (except possibly in the "formation example" diagram) has never referred to the position by that name -- except in Canadian rules where it was first "centre scrimmager" (or maybe just "one of [whom]", referring to the players of the "scrimmage"), then "snap", then "centre". And with unbalanced lines possible there's all the reason for coaches to abandon that term. And it does seem there's a trend in coaching lately for the term "snapper" to be used more than it used to be.

Robert in the Bronx

ajmc Mon Apr 27, 2009 07:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by daggo66 (Post 597930)
True, correcting your recollections would be impossible, as would trying to comprehend the bounds of your narcissism. (17)

I guess it's easy to be brief when you don't have to concen youself that what you write actually matters, means anything or serves any purpose.

daggo66 Mon Apr 27, 2009 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajmc (Post 598012)
I guess it's easy to be brief when you don't have to concen youself that what you write actually matters, means anything or serves any purpose.

Thank you for validating my point!

Forksref Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:41pm

Counting words? Thanks, I needed a good laugh!

SWFLguy Tue May 12, 2009 07:29pm

my favorite one---
 
very close game--going down to the end--the team behind lines up in a "muddle huddle". They shift and from my UMPIRE position I see that the snapper is on the end of the line and is wearing #85. OK. The ball is snapped--he trots past me and I see the QB looking behind me--he rifles the ball past my ear--I spin and see #85 catch the ball and trot into the end zone untouched for the winning score. Cool !

KWH Wed May 13, 2009 02:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 597969)
Wording this is harder than it seemed at first -- and it didn't seem that easy even then! They want the long snapper to count as a wild card toward the total of 5 ineligible numbers, but on downs 1-3 will they allow a shift that leaves that wild card on the end of the line?

Robert in the Bronx

Not it that "Wild card" is the snapper and wearing a number other than 50-79 as by rule he can not be on the end of the line.
If that "wild card" is the snapper and wearing a 50-79 number, it would be legal as the team would not be utilizing the numbering exception.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1