The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Rugby Punt Fun [NFHS] (https://forum.officiating.com/football/50104-rugby-punt-fun-nfhs.html)

FredFan7 Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:51am

Rugby Punt Fun [NFHS]
 
NFHS Rules

Situation:

4th and 10 for K at it's own 20 yard line.

K in scrimmage kick formation. Punter, K11, receives the snap, runs to his right and punts the ball at

a) the K 19 yard line
b) the K 23 yard line

In both situations R commits a roughing the kicker penalty.

The punt is downed at the R 30 yard line.

Does roughing the kicker apply?

Who gets the ball and where?

JugglingReferee Mon Dec 01, 2008 12:47pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by FredFan7 (Post 554314)
4th and 10 for K at it's own 20 yard line.

K in scrimmage kick formation. Punter, K11, receives the snap, runs to his right and punts the ball at

a) the K 19 yard line
b) the K 23 yard line

In both situations R commits a roughing the kicker penalty.

The punt is downed at the R 30 yard line.

Does roughing the kicker apply?

Who gets the ball and where?

CANADIAN RULING:

In each of (a) and (b), roughing the kicker doesn't apply as the kicker left the normal kicking position.

(Assuming that 'running to his right' is more than a step or two. If it is a step - perhaps two - I would still allow the kicker protection if his style of kicking is kicking sideways - like a rugby player does. But running to one side sounds like multiple steps where the protection is lost.)

mbyron Mon Dec 01, 2008 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FredFan7 (Post 554314)
NFHS Rules

Situation:

4th and 10 for K at it's own 20 yard line.

K in scrimmage kick formation. Punter, K11, receives the snap, runs to his right and punts the ball at

a) the K 19 yard line
b) the K 23 yard line

In both situations R commits a roughing the kicker penalty.

The punt is downed at the R 30 yard line.

Does roughing the kicker apply?

Who gets the ball and where?

(a1) Depends: if the R player had time to pull up, then RTK applies to a legal kick. 15 yards from the previous spot, automatic 1st down for K/A, their ball at the A35.

(a2) R gets some leniency when K is running the ball. If the R player did not have a reasonable opportunity to pull up, and the contact was not otherwise illegal, play on. R's ball 1st and 10 at the R30.

(b) This is an illegal kick, so no RTK is possible. If the contact was not otherwise illegal, play on. If R declines the illegal kick penalty, R's ball 1st and 10 at the R30. If R accepts the illegal kick penalty, it'll be K's ball, 4th and 20 at the K10 (penalty is half the distance).


A PF for unnecessary roughness would have PSK enforcement in (a2), in which case it would be 1/10 for R at their 15, or in (b) it would offset the illegal kick penalty, replay the down. Alternatively R could decline the IK, keep the ball, and have PSK enforcement of the PF.

JRutledge Mon Dec 01, 2008 01:30pm

The only thing that I will say about this play is that if it is in doubt that the kicker is actually going to kick the ball, then it is not automatically roughing if they are hit immediately after punting the ball. It is very possible under the rules to have absolutely nothing or another type of foul. Protection should only be given when it is clear a kick is going to be made. If the kicker is waiting until the last minute, then that might be too bad for them.

Peace

Sonofanump Mon Dec 01, 2008 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FredFan7 (Post 554314)
NFHS Rules
b) the K 23 yard line
The punt is downed at the R 30 yard line.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 554344)
(b) This is an illegal kick, so no RTK is possible. If the contact was not otherwise illegal, play on. If R declines the illegal kick penalty, R's ball 1st and 10 at the R30. If R accepts the illegal kick penalty, it'll be K's ball, 4th and 20 at the K10 (penalty is half the distance)

An illegal kick is treated as a fumble. Do not let R decline this foul, if they do then it is A’s ball at the R30 since they possessed the fumble when the ball was declared dead.

2-23-9.

bisonlj Mon Dec 01, 2008 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sonofanump (Post 554352)
An illegal kick is treated as a fumble. Do not let R decline this foul, if they do then it is A’s ball at the R30 since they possessed the fumble when the ball was declared dead.

2-23-9.

The OP didn't say who downed it but if you assume it was downed by K, then I believe you are correct.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1