The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Inadvertent whistle -Ball placement on punts (https://forum.officiating.com/football/49888-inadvertent-whistle-ball-placement-punts.html)

kfo9494 Sat Nov 15, 2008 07:00am

Inadvertent whistle -Ball placement on punts
 
Got a question and cannot find my book- believe I left them in a crew members car.
>
1-K punts the ball from their own 20. The ball hits the ground where it is touch first by K at R's 40 yard line. The ball continue rolling to the 35 when R jumps on the ball but just muffs it- and ball is still rolling. The Back Judge then blows his whistle while the ball is loose.
What can now happen with the placement of the ball.

2-Same situation -but during the kick K or R fouls before the inadvertent whistle.

Federation Rule please.

dumbref Sat Nov 15, 2008 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kfo9494 (Post 550858)
Got a question and cannot find my book- believe I left them in a crew members car.
>
1-K punts the ball from their own 20. The ball hits the ground where it is touch first by K at R's 40 yard line. The ball continue rolling to the 35 when R jumps on the ball but just muffs it- and ball is still rolling. The Back Judge then blows his whistle while the ball is loose.
What can now happen with the placement of the ball.

2-Same situation -but during the kick K or R fouls before the inadvertent whistle.

Federation Rule please.

1- Replay from PS, first touching does take precedence over IW - BJ buys the beer.

2K - PS foul, replay

2R - This will most likely be a PSK enforcement depending on where the foul occurred. The end of the kick is the spot of the ball at the time of the IW sounded. (4.2.3E)

gtwbam Sat Nov 15, 2008 06:06pm

KFo9494

I would answer your question as follows

1 - Replay down from Previous spot. There are no other options.

2 - Enforcement of a foul by either K and R will be enforced from the previous spot. Post scrimmage enforcement does not apply because Team R is not in possession at the end of the down.

dumbref Mon Nov 17, 2008 05:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gtwbam (Post 550908)
KFo9494

I would answer your question as follows

1 - Replay down from Previous spot. There are no other options.

2 - Enforcement of a foul by either K and R will be enforced from the previous spot. Post scrimmage enforcement does not apply because Team R is not in possession at the end of the down.

Prior to PSK, administration of IW and a foul during the kick were the same - from the PS. Since PSK, there has been a conflict with the two but the case play was never changed until this year. Penalty administration (when accepted) takes precedence over IW administration, therefore the IW only ended the down and thus the kick at the same spot.

Obviously, the OP didn't provide enoungh information about R's foul, but suppose a kick beyond the NZ which ends without player possession and the foul by R was beyond the NZ before the end of the kick. Sounds like PSK to me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1