![]() |
Punters knee down?
Can anybody clairify the difference between NCAA and NFHS rules if a punter can go down on one knee to retrive a snap. Play was blown dead in a LL game.
|
NF: 4.2.2.a; "The ball becomes dead and the down is ended; (a) When a runner goes out of bounds, is held so his forward progress is stopped or allows any part of his person other than hand or foot to touch the ground."
When any player (there is no definition of "punter") possesses a live ball with his knee (or any other part of his body other than hand or foot) on the ground, he becomes a "runner" (NF:2.32.13) and the ball is dead. |
Quote:
Same ruling applies to the receiver of a free kick or scrimmage kick. An exception to this rule applies only for the holder during a TRY or Field goal attempt given some other criteria that also has to be meet. |
I've never had one that was close enough to call but I think I would give the punter some wiggle room on this if he wasn't being challenged at the point. If it is close, I give him the benefit of the doubt. If it was obvious from the top of the bleachers though, you have to call it.
|
Canadian Ruling
Canadian Ruling
In Canada, we allow exceptions to the runner being down rule. A player receiving a snap may go to a knee in the act of catching the ball and not be down. We also allow a kick receiver to go to a knee when fielding a kicked ball. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37pm. |