The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Enforcement on Punt Return for a TD (https://forum.officiating.com/football/49593-enforcement-punt-return-td.html)

BoBo Tue Oct 28, 2008 03:01pm

Enforcement on Punt Return for a TD
 
Play A/K has 4th and 10 form A's 40.

K40 punts to Rs 25 yard line; where R30 receives the ball.

During the RETURN K55 holds R66 at the K45 yard line.

R30 scores a TD.

What is the enforcement of the penalty if any?



Same as above but K55 holds R66 before the ball is punted at K's40 yard line.

R30 receives ball at R's 30 yard line and returns for a TD

What is the enforcement of the penalty if any?

Mike L Tue Oct 28, 2008 03:12pm

NFHS
play #1....R scores a TD and has the choice of enforcing the hold on either the try or the kickoff.
Play #2....R can take the penalty (why would they want to?) and replay the down or they can decline the penalty to score the TD.

insatty Tue Oct 28, 2008 03:12pm

In HS, R may accept the enforcement on the try or ensuing free kick. In NCAA, the R declines the penalty and accepts the result of the play.

But why would this official call a holding on K? Holding is generally called at the point of attack when a defender is illegally restricted from making a play on the ball carrier or an offensive lineman is illegally restricted from pulling. It's hard to imagine why K would hold R 5 yards from the LOS. This official should keep his flag in his pocket.

BoBo Tue Oct 28, 2008 04:35pm

i was not at the game in person but it was a game they had on a local channel.

not sure what he saw, maybe the guy tackled a blocker thus the illegal use of hands/holding

Forksref Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:13pm

I agree with the enforcements.

According to the OP, the hold was at the LOS before the kick. Sounds like A was trying to prevent the kick from being blocked just like pass protection, etc. Flag it.

JugglingReferee Wed Oct 29, 2008 05:30am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BoBo (Post 546622)
Play A/K has 4th and 10 form A's 40.

K40 punts to Rs 25 yard line; where R30 receives the ball.

During the RETURN K55 holds R66 at the K45 yard line.

R30 scores a TD.

What is the enforcement of the penalty if any?

CANADIAN RULING:

Minor fouls with the ball passed the LTG or on a return/COP are applied from Point Ball Held at the time if the foul and do not carry over to anywhere. R would decline K's hold to accept their score. Result: Team R touchdown.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BoBo (Post 546622)
Same as above but K55 holds R66 before the ball is punted at K's40 yard line.

R30 receives ball at R's 30 yard line and returns for a TD

What is the enforcement of the penalty if any?

CANADIAN RULING:

Minor fouls before the ball is in flight on a punt/FGA are applied from the Point of Last Scrimmage and do not carry over to anywhere. R would decline K's hold to accept their score. Result: Team R touchdown.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1