![]() |
Too true, but I try to inoculate myself wherever possible. What do you consider to be an improper sideline warning?
|
Quote:
For example, last week I had a coah become irrate because of a horsecollar tackle (that really wasn't all that viscious to begine with). I had to tell him three times before he would believe me that its not a federation foul. I can't tell you how much I hear coaches call BIB "clipping". |
Quote:
Sideline warning - More than 3 coaches in the 6 foot area or any players between the 25 yard lines. Players are only allowed in this 6 foot area as they are entering or leaving the field. Sideline interference - Being outside of the team box but not on the field. That means that someone is out of bounds, but has gone past the 25 yard line. Unsportsmanlike foul - Only players allowed on the field; anyone else = USC. There are a few exceptions: Authorized conferences (charged timeout) - Middle of the field - 1 coach allowed on field. - Within 9 yards of sideline - Everyone can be out there. Three attendants (water boys) allowed on field during timeouts (charged, TV, after try/field goal/safety, injury, heat/huminity) *Note that the rules do not allow coaches on the field during the timeout following a score. Injury timeout - Coach and attendants (doctor, trainer) allowed on field to attend to player. That is the summary of where people are allowed to stand during the game. Nowhere does it say it is a foul for getting in an official's way. On your second flag, he didn't commit a USC foul, so you just decided to call a different foul on him. That doesn't make sense. He may or may not have deserved the USC, but he for sure did not deserve the sideline warning. |
Worst thing said
During pre-game conference of a varsity game asked the coach if he might do anything unusual. He said he may attempt a drop kick for two on a try. I told him that was fine but its only worth one point. First balloon popped!
Worst thing II He then said he planned to move his holder up 3-4 yards on the drop-kick in hopes of drawing a roughing the holder call. I explained if the holder never possesses the ball Second balloon popped! Needless to say, he lost several more balloons during the game. |
A coach complaining about a call at a previous game. Defensive lineman called for USC for what the official explained was attempting to disrupt the snap count. Claims all the defensive player was dojng was shouting, "hut, hut".
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53pm. |