![]() |
Encorachment on the kicking team....or not?
K1 runs up to kick the ball on a free kick. He steps past the ball and the 40 yard line, but fails to kick the ball. He is the only one to pass the ball and the 40. Is this a penalty or does it fall under the exception in the NFHS rules for a kicker and holder being past the ball?
Maybe a fake kick is not in the "spirit" of the rule, but would you flag it. Please provide references if you can find any. |
Technically he's not a kicker until he kicks the ball, so I believe you have rules support to call encroachment even though there's the exception for the kicker and holder. If he is in the kicking motion and just plants just past the line before he actually kicks it, I'd let it go though in the spirit of the rule.
|
Usually when that happens, the kicker is going to be followed by a bunch of his friends. Flag.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56am. |