The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Wrong Ball Play (https://forum.officiating.com/football/49256-wrong-ball-play.html)

InsideTheStripe Sat Aug 08, 2009 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 619523)
Does anyone have a Fed citation for the "wrong ball" play being illegal?

*9.9.1 SITUATION B: From a field goal formation, potential kicker A1 yells, “Where’s the tee?” A2 replies, “I’ll go get it” and goes legally in motion toward his team’s sideline. Ball is snapped to A1 who throws a touchdown pass to A2. RULING: Unsportsmanlike conduct prior to snap. The ball should be declared dead and the foul enforced as a dead-ball foul.

COMMENT: Football has been and always will be a game of deception and trickery involving multiple shifts, unusual formations and creative plays. However, actions or verbiage designed to confuse the defense into believing there is problem and a snap isn’t imminent is beyond the scope of sportsmanship and is illegal.

Time2Ref Sun Aug 09, 2009 07:46am

I've heard so many white hats ask the coach in pre-game meeting"

".......players properly equiped? Do you have any special or unusual plays that we should know about?"

ppaltice Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:51am

When I was a young official, this play was rampant in Louisiana (before K State did it). It was deemed legal back then (1996 I think). Fortunately everyone has decided this is illegal.

They key is you cannot use a nonplayer (be it a coach, substitute or replaced player) to deceive the opponent.

Welpe Sun Aug 09, 2009 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Time2Ref (Post 619608)
I've heard so many white hats ask the coach in pre-game meeting"

".......players properly equiped? Do you have any special or unusual plays that we should know about?"

That's a good question to ask for a couple of reasons. The first is if the coach informs you that they want to run an illegal play (ie wrong ball play). In that case, you can be pro-active and notify the coach that type of play is not legal.

The second is if the coach has any legal plays that are unusual such as the swinging gate formation (is that still legal this year?) or plays such as double reverses, etc. While we should always be on our toes for such things, it is good to have a pregame reminder that something like that might be coming.

Robert Goodman Sun Aug 09, 2009 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ppaltice (Post 619625)
They key is you cannot use a nonplayer (be it a coach, substitute or replaced player) to deceive the opponent.

No, I don't think that's an equivalent statement of the rule.

For one thing, a player of A could indicate a "problem" and that the snap was not imminent without involving a non-player, and it would be just as illegal. It could be "Is this the ball we use?" or "Is my chin strap on right?" and involve no more than a huddle between 2 players.

For another, a non-player on the sideline could falsely shout something like, "Throw it to Zev.", and it would be legal. Maybe even shout a false count of the play or game clock, but I'm less sure about that.

The rule in question addresses a specific sort of deception that has been ruled unfair, and should not be extended by interpret'n to cover other forms of deception, nor narrowed to cover only those involving ostensible communication with non-players.

Robert

bigjohn Sun Aug 09, 2009 08:26pm

no one has to say anything. ACTIONS or VERBIAGE


actions or verbiage designed to confuse



A22 acts as if he has injured a ankle but refuses assistance when asked by the referee if he is ok. during the next play he limps but doesn't participate directly in the play. On the next play, A22 goes in motion with a very severe limp, but at the snap he tears down the field, with a miracle cure and catches a long pass? Any problems? Any foul?

Texas Aggie Sun Aug 09, 2009 08:43pm

NCAA: 2 choices -- no equipment may be used to confuse the opponent, and no obviously unfair act not specifically covered may be used. We're shutting down the play. Hopefully the coach asks the question pregame and we can stop it, but if it happens and we can go with an illegal snap, we'll do that. Otherwise, 15 yards.

I'll take my chances in allowing the coach to defend his play if he complains to the UIL. This isn't a difficult one. The intent of the rules is that this play is illegal.

InsideTheStripe Sun Aug 09, 2009 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 619723)
A22 acts as if he has injured a ankle but refuses assistance when asked by the referee if he is ok. during the next play he limps but doesn't participate directly in the play. On the next play, A22 goes in motion with a very severe limp, but at the snap he tears down the field, with a miracle cure and catches a long pass? Any problems? Any foul?

Assuming he's in motion as a receiver normally would go in motion and not limping towards his bench like he's trying to get off the field and motioning for a substitute...

Play on. No problem. No foul.

What about a limping receiver simply going in motion confuses the defense into believing there is problem and a snap isn’t imminent?

bigjohn Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:01pm

NFHS Forum: What is the rule coverage for fake injury?

InsideTheStripe Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 619742)

I read that thread two years ago. I thought you might have some additional thoughts.

bigjohn Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:19pm

It is from the Redding guide. That means nothing, right?

Welpe Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by InsideTheStripe (Post 619738)

What about a limping receiver simply going in motion confuses the defense into believing there is problem and a snap isn’t imminent?

As long as the offense isn't using the player in a pretend substitution, then I'm going with "that's nothing".

Reffing Rev. Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 619681)
For another, a non-player on the sideline could falsely shout something like, "Throw it to Zev.", and it would be legal. Maybe even shout a false count of the play or game clock, but I'm less sure about that.


Robert

Year before last working a game in nw MO all of the first half whenever BJ started his count A's entire sideline would start counting down from 5, I guess so that A would snap the ball and not get the DOG. 4th quarter the opponents break the huddle after what seems like an eternity, and as they come to the line they start counting (BJ has not counted yet), the offense rushes the snap before they are all set. I killed it with a USC on the defense for "false counting" Right or wrong, I stick with that call, clearly the defense was trying to confuse their opponent in a way not allowed by rules.

Some might say that the offense has the responsibility to know the play clock and watch the BJ rather than listen to the defense, but I could say they defense should watch the snap and not listen to the "where's the tee play" too, but i digress.

JugglingReferee Mon Aug 10, 2009 06:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. (Post 619764)
Year before last working a game in nw MO all of the first half whenever BJ started his count A's entire sideline would start counting down from 5, I guess so that A would snap the ball and not get the DOG. 4th quarter the opponents break the huddle after what seems like an eternity, and as they come to the line they start counting (BJ has not counted yet), the offense rushes the snap before they are all set. I killed it with a USC on the defense for "false counting" Right or wrong, I stick with that call, clearly the defense was trying to confuse their opponent in a way not allowed by rules.

Some might say that the offense has the responsibility to know the play clock and watch the BJ rather than listen to the defense, but I could say they defense should watch the snap and not listen to the "where's the tee play" too, but i digress.

Same thing, different park:

Blue picks White's pocket at the defensive 3-point line. White bench starts to go "5.... 4.... 3.... 2...." and Blue shots just across half and on a breakaway. I waited until the shot was released, and then: "Whack!"

At my whistle, the clock read 0:05. The Blue player totally had time to take it in for an uncontested layup. :cool:

bisonlj Mon Aug 10, 2009 07:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. (Post 619764)
Year before last working a game in nw MO all of the first half whenever BJ started his count A's entire sideline would start counting down from 5, I guess so that A would snap the ball and not get the DOG. 4th quarter the opponents break the huddle after what seems like an eternity, and as they come to the line they start counting (BJ has not counted yet), the offense rushes the snap before they are all set. I killed it with a USC on the defense for "false counting" Right or wrong, I stick with that call, clearly the defense was trying to confuse their opponent in a way not allowed by rules.

Some might say that the offense has the responsibility to know the play clock and watch the BJ rather than listen to the defense, but I could say they defense should watch the snap and not listen to the "where's the tee play" too, but i digress.

Rule 9-5-1d covers this situation. This is the rule for USC and the example is "using disconcerting acts or words prior to the snap in an attempt to interfere with A's signals or movements".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1