![]() |
Tackle of non-ball carrier
A question on the part 2 test got me thinking.
What is the call for a defender tackling an opponent who is obviously not a ball carrier? On the test it said it was defensive holding. Is this right? Also as a side question... At what point, if any, do you call a penalty on a defender who hits a "soon to be receiver" behind the LOS? Obviously because it is behind the LOS it can't be DPI, but can it be other things (like holding, illegal contact, etc)? |
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
Absolutely this is defensive holding. The defense illegally took a potential blocker out of the play. Such judgment is probably among the more difficult types to learn/detect. It should be flagged only if it has an impact on the play, just as any other tactical foul is considered. Quote:
We do have DPI even if the receiver is behind the LS. DPI behind the LS is only if the ball is obviously thrown to said receiver. |
Quote:
Quote:
Robert |
The issue is that you can tackle a player that is faking as if they have the ball. Those players can be tackled within reason. If it is a blocker, then they cannot be tackled because it would be holding. Not a very common thing, but it can happen and I have seen it.
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48pm. |