The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Agree with what everyone has said--ball dead at R's 1.

Different play: Same punt bounces at R's 5. K1 leaps and while airborne controls the ball over R's 2. He subsequently lands with the ball in R's endzone. RULING: ??
2-36-1 . . . A recovery is gaining possession of a live ball after it strikes the
ground. An airborne player has completed a recovery when he first contacts the ground inbounds with the ball in his possession.

8-5-3a1 . . . It is a touchback when:
a. Any free kick or scrimmage kick:
1. Which is not a scoring attempt or which is a grounded three-point
field-goal attempt, breaks the plane of R’s goal line unless R chooses a
spot of first touching by K.

Touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 10:48pm
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Canadian (12-Man Football) Ruling

The result of the play is a Rouge!
Award Team A (K) 1-point
(Unless the 1-point would effect the fianl score)


Couldn't resist the temptation!
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 07:08am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by KWH
The result of the play is a Rouge!
Award Team A (K) 1-point
(Unless the 1-point would [strikeout]effect[/strikeout]affect the final score)


Couldn't resist the temptation!

Incorrect!


If the play were to happen as in the OP, it would be:


CANADIAN RULING:
  • If K2 was onside (onside in relation to punter K1, at the time of kick), then it is a touchdown for K.
  • If K2 was offside (offside in relation to punter K1, at the time of kick), then we have a restraining zone foul. The Point of Application is the Point of Possession, which is where K obtained possession of the ball - which is the R 1 yard line. Result: R 1D/10 @ R-16.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchback or 1st down? wh52 Football 6 Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:01am
Touchback? bellsjc Football 3 Mon Sep 19, 2005 03:10pm
Is it a touchback?? wallrhut Football 4 Tue Oct 19, 2004 01:50am
touchback mflynn Football 6 Mon Sep 27, 2004 04:24pm
Touchback....or not Patton Football 10 Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1