The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   I'm confused on penalties carrying over to overtime period. (nf) (https://forum.officiating.com/football/47065-im-confused-penalties-carrying-over-overtime-period-nf.html)

kfo9494 Sat Aug 09, 2008 07:32pm

I'm confused on penalties carrying over to overtime period. (nf)
 
Sorry if this had already been asked and answered but I got confused the other day when we had a rules clinic and I thought I heard said 'no live ball foul will carry over to the overtime period'.
I must have misunderstood
case book 8-2-2 Situation C has penalties following a field goal starting the overtime period and fouls by the opponent of the scoring team , on a try, also going into overtime.
>
So on the last play of the 4th, a live ball foul by the opponents of the scoring team can only be assessed on the try.
But if there is a live ball foul on the Try then it can carry into the overtime period.
I hope this is correct.

SC Ump Sat Aug 09, 2008 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kfo9494
So on the last play of the 4th, a live ball foul by the opponents of the scoring team can only be assessed on the try.

Correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by kfo9494
But if there is a live ball foul [by the opponents of the scoring team] on the Try then it can carry into the overtime period.

My understanding is that this is incorrect. No live ball fouls can carry over to the overtime period. The rule for FED states it can carry to the subsequent kick-off, but there is no kick-off in the overtime period.

ODJ Sat Aug 09, 2008 09:22pm

Only an USC during the intermission after the end of the 4th quarter can carry.
New this year is a B penalty that could carry over to the next KO can be assessed on the opening KO of the third quarter if the penalty occurs on the last timed down of the 2nd q.

MJT Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump
Correct.

My understanding is that this is incorrect. No live ball fouls can carry over to the overtime period. The rule for FED states it can carry to the subsequent kick-off, but there is no kick-off in the overtime period.

You are incorrect in what you are saying is incorrect.

Here is a synopsis of the rules covering the last downs in the 4th qtr.

Rule 8-2-2 and 8-2-3 discuss fouls on touchdowns.
Rule 8-3-5b discusses fouls on trys.
Rule 8-4-3b discusses fouls on successful FG's.

They are different.

On a TD, the foul may be enforced on the try or subsequent KO.
On a try, the foul may cause a reply of the try after enforcement, or enforced from the succeeding spot.
On a successful FG, the foul may cause a reply of the down after enforcement, or enforced from the succeeding spot.

The reason it cannot carry over into OT on a TD is cuz there is no subsequent KO in overtime.
On a try or successful FG, the succeeding spot is the start of the OT period, so it can be assessed there if that is there choice.

See case play 8.2.2.C for the exact scenario describing what I stated above.

BktBallRef Sun Aug 10, 2008 02:04pm

MJT is correct. :)

Fouls on the try can carryover to the OT because the enforement is suceeding spot, not subsequent kickoff like on a TD play.

SC Ump Sun Aug 10, 2008 07:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT
You are incorrect in what you are saying is incorrect.

Thanks for the correction.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1