The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Clarification of rule needed (https://forum.officiating.com/football/46909-clarification-rule-needed.html)

timharris Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:41am

Clarification of rule needed
 
Hello

I was watching a Semi pro football game here in Virginia last weekend and something very strange happened.

The offensive team had the ball on its 12 yard line as the ball was hiked it sailed over the quarterbacks head and into the endzone. The defensive team tried too recover the ball in the end zone but as it was about too be picked up the quarterback kicked the ball out of the end zone.

I know this is 2 points for a safety but do you still tack on the 5 yards for illegally kicking the football.

They play under (NFL) rules

Thank you

JugglingReferee Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:55am

I don't know NFL rules, yet... but I can't imagine how a safety would also have a 5 yard penalty assessed.

Jim D Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:33pm

This would be enforced the same as high school. If the defense declined the penalty, the play stands and it's a saftey. If they accept the penalty, it will be A's ball, repeat the down and penalize half the distance to the A's 6 yard line. Illegal kicking is 15 yards.

Welpe Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim D
This would be enforced the same as high school. If the defense declined the penalty, the play stands and it's a saftey. If they accept the penalty, it will be A's ball, repeat the down and penalize half the distance to the A's 6 yard line. Illegal kicking is 15 yards.

Speaking NFHS: I think it is going to be a safety either way. The foul was committed behind the basic spot so you would enforce the penalty from the spot of the foul, which is the end zone in this situation.

Jim D Mon Aug 04, 2008 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe
Speaking NFHS: I think it is going to be a safety either way. The foul was committed behind the basic spot so you would enforce the penalty from the spot of the foul, which is the end zone in this situation.


You're right. It's a foul behind the basic spot. I wasn't thinking!

Texas Aggie Mon Aug 04, 2008 03:02pm

Under NCAA rules, its a safety either way. I've had this about 3 times in the last 2 years.

MJT Mon Aug 04, 2008 03:10pm

I work NFL rules, and this is NOT a tack on foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1