The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Penalty enforcement on Interception (https://forum.officiating.com/football/46853-penalty-enforcement-interception.html)

gtwbam Fri Aug 01, 2008 08:02pm

Penalty enforcement on Interception
 
B1 intercepts A's pass at A's 10 yard line and returns it for a touchdown.
B2 clips in A's end zone after the interception, but before the score.
What's the ruling?

boboman316 Fri Aug 01, 2008 08:55pm

You would enforce from the all-but-one spot. Since it's a foul by the team in possession behind the basic spot, you would enforce it from the spot of the foul. The spot being in the end zone, it would be a safety.

BktBallRef Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by boboman316
You would enforce from the all-but-one spot. Since it's a foul by the team in possession behind the basic spot, you would enforce it from the spot of the foul. The spot being in the end zone, it would be a safety.

A's end zone?

Bad Mood Risin Fri Aug 01, 2008 11:44pm

B got the ball with clean hands so they keep it. The basic spot is the end of the run, penalizing it from the goal line, so B will have it 1/10 @ 15.

JugglingReferee Sat Aug 02, 2008 05:14am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gtwbam
B1 intercepts A's pass at A's 10 yard line and returns it for a touchdown.
B2 clips in A's end zone after the interception, but before the score.
What's the ruling?

CANADIAN RULING:

We need to know where the ball was when the clip occurred. Since B1 only ran 10 yards (in which A could do anything about), the timing of this play is critical. Let's say, for sake of having a spot, that B1 was at the A-5 yard line when the clip occurred in the EZ.

Penalty is for Blocking From the Rear, 15 yards from Point Ball Held.

Result: Team B 1D/10 @ A-20.

Clock:
  • Prior to the 3-minute warning: clock on the RFP
  • After the 3-minute warning: clock on the snap
Result if in OT: no TD, go to next series.

Bad Mood Risin Sat Aug 02, 2008 11:58am

Not at all. B got the ball with clean hands. That part of the play, the return, is essentially a running play. The basic spot is the end of the run -- the goal line. The foul occured in the EZ, which is in advance of the EOR. If the foul happened at the 50 it would be judged in relation to the EOR. If behind, it would be a spot foul.

Or this could be one of those times where I overthink things. You can convince yourself that a-n-d doesn't spell 'and' if you think about it too much.

Rich Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Mood Risin
Not at all. B got the ball with clean hands. That part of the play, the return, is essentially a running play. The basic spot is the end of the run -- the goal line. The foul occured in the EZ, which is in advance of the EOR. If the foul happened at the 50 it would be judged in relation to the EOR. If behind, it would be a spot foul.

Or this could be one of those times where I overthink things. You can convince yourself that a-n-d doesn't spell 'and' if you think about it too much.

Or people are confused about which end zone we're talking about here, is all. I read it the same way you did. First and ten at the 15 (10 if it's merely a BIB, as I haven't seen an honest-to-God clip in years).

Bad Mood Risin Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
I haven't seen an honest-to-God clip in years.

I've seen one in the last 15 years.

BktBallRef Sat Aug 02, 2008 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Mood Risin
Not at all. B got the ball with clean hands. That part of the play, the return, is essentially a running play. The basic spot is the end of the run -- the goal line. The foul occured in the EZ, which is in advance of the EOR. If the foul happened at the 50 it would be judged in relation to the EOR. If behind, it would be a spot foul.

Or this could be one of those times where I overthink things. You can convince yourself that a-n-d doesn't spell 'and' if you think about it too much.

Sorry BMR, I meant to quote Boboman's post.

Robert Goodman Sat Aug 02, 2008 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
Or people are confused about which end zone we're talking about here, is all. I read it the same way you did. First and ten at the 15 (10 if it's merely a BIB, as I haven't seen an honest-to-God clip in years).

Is that because BBW is so restricted that nobody goes that low?

Welpe Sat Aug 02, 2008 10:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
Is that because BBW is so restricted that nobody goes that low?

BBW (block below the waist) or clipping? I saw BBW several times last year.

Bad Moon, welcome!

bluezebra Sat Aug 02, 2008 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
Or people are confused about which end zone we're talking about here, is all. I read it the same way you did. First and ten at the 15 (10 if it's merely a BIB, as I haven't seen an honest-to-God clip in years).

B1 intercepts A's pass at A's 10 yard line and returns it for a touchdown.
B2 clips in A's end zone after the interception, but before the score.


What's to be confused about? Anyone confused should go back to 1st grade.

Bob


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1