![]() |
|
|||
1st year confusion about plays in Casebook
Hello all. This is my first year officiating and I have been studying hard, reading posts here and trying to glean as much knowledge as I can prior to the season starting.
I'm sure that I don't understand something and we haven't had an association meeting yet for me to ask questions, so I thought I'd turn here. The question is about two plays (2.8SitA & 7.1.6SitB) from the '08 Casebook that seem contradictory to me, even after reading the rules cited. 2.8SitA: After the ball is marked RFP for a scrimmage down: (a) B1 enters NZ to give defensive signals; or (b)...with the ball. After the RFP and the snapper places hand(s) on the ball (c) A1 or B3 break the plane of NZ; or (d)... Ruling: Encroachemnt in (a), (b), (c), & (d). Whenever a player is illegally in the NZ it is encroachment. (7-1,2) (I left out (b) & (d) since they make sense to me.) 7.1.6SitB: Snapper A1 positioned over the ball after RFP, but not placed hands on the ball yet. Either: (a) A2; or (b) B1, breaks the plane of the NZ. Both players adjust their position and get behind the NZ; or (c) A1 has a hand on the ground and then stand erect to call out a blocking assignment. Ruling: No infraction in either (a), (b) or (c). In (c) the snapper is not restricted as are other linemen after placing a hand on/near the ground. As I said, I'm sure that I'm missing something between the two since the rulings are different but cannot figure out what it might be right now. ![]() Please un-confuse me. ![]() Thanks in advance for your help in learning and understanding this better. |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Q from 1st Year: Tight Sideline Inbounds Plays | ca_rumperee | Basketball | 7 | Mon Feb 04, 2008 09:19am |
Weird Plays this Year? | GFS-1 | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:01pm |
NFHS Lodged ball - casebook plays | Carl Childress | Baseball | 27 | Thu Dec 23, 2004 03:19pm |
Confusion... | Oz Referee | Basketball | 6 | Sun Nov 25, 2001 01:03am |
Confusion? | Just Curious | Softball | 3 | Fri May 18, 2001 11:40am |