The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 07:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 48
Send a message via MSN to ML99 Send a message via Skype™ to ML99
Lightbulb Punt

Hi guys
I want to share this punt video with you. I think it's good to use for presentations.

http://dragons-media.dreamhosters.co...punt/index.htm

Share your comments (ncaa rules)


Last edited by ML99; Tue Apr 22, 2008 at 08:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
I don't do NCAA rules but I believe that the rules for this play are the same at all levels. Obviously there is a muffed punt and not a catch and a fumble. Thus because there is a muff the kicking team is allowed to gain possession of the ball and retain possession at the spot of their recovery or catch. However they are not allowed to advance it. This play shows that the top wing knew what was happening but the BJ seems to not be fully sure about what to do as he seemed to want to give a TD.

The other point to make is about then having a coach on the field after the play. Perhaps there was a time-out taken but then why isn't there a defensive coach on the field as well. White's coach seems to be out there asking the officials about what is going on and perhaps trying to work a TD out of the play. But then again there may have been a time-out and he may have had the right to be out there though I thought all authorized conferences were supposed to be at the sideline using NCAA rules.

Last edited by Warrenkicker; Mon Apr 14, 2008 at 07:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
I agree with Warren and echo his thoughts.

1) H is giving the stop the clock signal and appears to be holding a spot @ 15.
2) B looks lost. Didn't see a bean bag.
3) What the heck is the coach doing on the field?
4) Some crew mechanics look pretty sloppy.
5) L bounces instead of a smooth slide/glide.

They appear to be setting up on the 15, so did they get it right?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 08:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Game (I'm assuming) was in Europe, hence NCAA rules. Don't know about how TOs are administered in this league. If strictly by NCAA rules, TO should be at the sideline.

As for the play, I agree with the others. Clearly the ball should have been blown dead when possessed by A. HL appears to have nailed it for the crew. BJ, shall we say, got 'caught up in the moment.' Still no reason for him to have just been walking, following the play though. Also, don't know about mechanics used, but the LJ left the LOS just before the snap, but then stopped only about three or four yards downfield. I know some five-man mechanics have the LJ go downfield on the punt, but he seemed to be in a position where he had one foot in the boat and one on the dock. Either be downfield or stayy at the LOS. Where he was didn't seem to buy him much. And, if he was supposed to be downfield, I would have expected to see the BJ favoring the HL's side of the field. He was in the center favoring the LJ's side. I think the LJ just anticipated the snap and left a tick or two too early.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
It looked very strange to me to see the LJ leave the LOS before the snap and the HL released at the snap...Who's gonna rule on the punt crossing if no one is there??
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2008, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
It seems the HL cheated a couple of steps moving down field, but not so far that he couldn't have retreated if whether or not the kick crossing the line became a factor.

Regarding the coach on the field, not knowing whether or not their was a time out called, one of the officials NOT involved in the discussion should be on the alert for things like this and if there was a TO called, gently steer the coach towards his teams huddle, or if no time out was called, intercept him and gently steer him back to his sideline, assuring him that, either way, the Referee will explain everything once he gets things sorted out.

It's an ounce of prevention, pound of cure type thing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2008, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
Still no reason for him to have just been walking
Bad mechanics, apparent bad rules knowledge, bad hustle.

I don't know this official, but an observer would not be impressed with this play.

LJ saved the crew, remember you are a crew, speak up if you see something wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2008, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Yellow card for the coach.

Red card for crew mechanics and rules knowledge.

I hope Munchen won the game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punt it Twice golfdesigner Football 2 Sun Sep 30, 2007 08:42am
Downing a punt rice037 Football 8 Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:18pm
punt yankeesfan Football 2 Sun Oct 16, 2005 05:53pm
FG used as punt cougarcoach Football 18 Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:59pm
Punt question MOFFICIAL Football 2 Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1