![]() |
Can B be awarded 1-point safety on try?
A, on try after touchdown, goes for 2, runs backward 108 yards through its own end zone. No change of possession occurs which would end play in NF and NFL.
What is the call? |
What is the call?
Please, NF, NCAA, and NFL.
|
NCAA 1 point for B. Go to the KO A kicks off
|
Only team A can be awarded a 1-point safety on a try in federation. If you look closely at the rule it says something like "a safety by team B" (My rule book is currently tucked away).
And, for team A to score a safety it's incredibly remote. It would have to be a MUFF by B of a loose ball after a ball hits the ground on a team A fumble. The muff would need to be judged as the NEW FORCE which puts the ball into B's own endzone thereby giving team A a 1-point safety. If B happened to ever possess the ball the ball would become dead immediately. So, for example, if A fumbles and the ball richochets off team B's leg and ultimately into B's pylon you simply have a dead ball with a try that's no good. |
REPLY: As ljudge said, in Federation ball (at least for now) B can never score on a try. Even if A retreats 108 yards and takes a knee in his own endzone. In such a case, the try ends; no points are scored.
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
No score, end of convert attempt. Resume with KO as after any other TD. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45am. |