The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
I think the question here is during a try in a third OT period, when both teams are required to "go for two", if A passes, B intercepts the pass in the EZ, starts to return and gets out of the EZ into the field of play, and then fumbles the ball back into the EZ where A recovers, does A score a 1 point safety?
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Roy, I think in your scenerio, if A RECOVERS the ball in the end zone, it will simply be a successful 2 point try for them.

If B recovers, or if the ball rolls out of bounds, then the question about the 1 point safety for A would apply.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
I can never get my A's & B's straight. The question I wanted to pose is as you noted is what do you have when B recovers it's own fumble back in the EZ?
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
That is a 1 point safety for A
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 28, 2007, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesears
Here is the rulebook wording:
=========================
Beginningwith the third extra period, teams scoring a touchdown must attempt a two-point try. A one-point try by Team A (although not illegal) will not score a point.
=========================

While I did not find a definition, any time the words "one point try" are used in the rulebook, it refers to a try by kicking what would otherwise by a field goal.

So IMO, this simply means team A won't be awarded a point if they kick the ball through the uprights. Any other play that results in a score by Team A still counts.
Still, that's uncharacteristically poor wording by NCAA (more expected of NFL). Ordinarily when rules specify that a team "must" do something, there's a penalty for not doing it (such as for failure to put the ball in play) or at least a forfeit of some kind (such as a choice), so then they had to go and add "although not illegal". It would've been so much clearer to add to the appropriate provision on scoring, "...except that in any extra periods following the second, it [i.e. a field goal during a try] shall not score."

The rule as written also suggests that if team A, during a try in the 3rd or subsequent tiebreaking frame, attempts an ostensible kick at goal, but the kick winds up in possession of K who then run it in, that they don't score 2 points because it was a try for 1 point.

Robert
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety or No Safety that is the question BrasoFuerte Football 14 Sun Sep 02, 2007 05:15pm
1 point safety Jim S Football 28 Sat Nov 12, 2005 01:04pm
1 Point Safety Question starman Football 8 Tue Dec 07, 2004 05:01pm
One point safety SouthGARef Football 14 Mon Nov 29, 2004 08:16am
Indiana vs Kentucky braboa Basketball 15 Sun Dec 29, 2002 10:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1