The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Interception in the EZ (https://forum.officiating.com/football/39184-interception-ez.html)

Ray_from_Mi Sat Oct 27, 2007 07:42pm

Interception in the EZ
 
Forward pass is intercepted by the defense in the EZ. Player has jumped in the air to intercept the ball, returns to the ground, takes a couple of steps (still in the EZ) and stops. Is the play over at that point, or can the player start running again towards his EZ? Would this be like a punt (live ball) that is rolling and then comes to rest (w/o being touched) and then the play being whistled over.

Rich Sat Oct 27, 2007 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ray_from_Mi
Forward pass is intercepted by the defense in the EZ. Player has jumped in the air to intercept the ball, returns to the ground, takes a couple of steps (still in the EZ) and stops. Is the play over at that point, or can the player start running again towards his EZ? Would this be like a punt (live ball) that is rolling and then comes to rest (w/o being touched) and then the play being whistled over.

It's a live ball.

He can run out. He can step out of the end zone or get tackled for a touchback. Worst thing that can happen (to him) in that situation is a fumble.

ABO77 Sat Oct 27, 2007 08:56pm

...2nd worst thing is a foul by B in the EZ.

JugglingReferee Sat Oct 27, 2007 09:57pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ray_from_Mi
Forward pass is intercepted by the defense in the EZ. Player has jumped in the air to intercept the ball, returns to the ground, takes a couple of steps (still in the EZ) and stops. Is the play over at that point, or can the player start running again towards his EZ? Would this be like a punt (live ball) that is rolling and then comes to rest (w/o being touched) and then the play being whistled over.

CANADIAN RULING:

Yup, B player can run it out, but he shouldn't. Remember, our EZs are 20 yards deep, so it's possible that B is far from the GL.

If B does run it out, the ball is scrimmage from where he is tackled. If he goes OOB, to a knee, or is tackled, it is B 1D/10 @ B-20. Although this is like a touchback, we do not have a term for this awarding of the ball to B.

If B fumbles, then A can recover for a TD, or B can recover for the same rulings as paragraph 2.

A foul by B in the EZ is applied from the 20 yard line.

MJT Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:16pm

This is from another post, but could apply here...
Part of AR 8-6-1-II says "However, if in the judgment of the official there is perceptible time during which the team B player made no attempt to advance after the interception declaring a touchback is justified."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1