![]() |
Clock after penalty
I have some confusion regarding when to start the clock after a penalty. Example: After 1st down play ends inbounds, clock is running. On 2nd down the play results in a TD, during the down there is a hold/live ball foul.Play comes back. Does the clock start on the ready, after enforcement, based on the 1st down play or at the snap, based on 2nd down ending in the EZ? I can't seem to pin this down in the book.
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
Did the play end before/after the 3-minute warning?
|
I've always started the clock in this situation on the snap since the clock was shut down for the TD.
|
Quote:
(If the foul was the only reason the clock stopped -- the clock would've run absent the penalty -- then start on the ready.) |
If there's a foul prior to the snap, false start, encroachment, etc., then how the previous play ended is an issue.
But once the ball is snapped, how that play ends determines when the clock next starts. The previous play has nothing to do with it. |
Clock after penalty
Thank you , got it now.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46am. |