The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NFHS Reciever steps out..... (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38977-nfhs-reciever-steps-out.html)

Mike51 Fri Oct 19, 2007 08:39am

NFHS Reciever steps out.....
 
of bounds, either on his own or he is forced out by defender (blocked or pushed) and returns to the playing field. Can he legally catch a pass at any time during the down? is it illegal participation? where would any infraction from this scenario be penalized from?

This is kinda like the play from the Ole Miss / Alabama game on Oct. 13.

mikesears Fri Oct 19, 2007 09:06am

Under NFHS rules, all A players are prohibitted from going out of bounds and returning during the down unless blocked out by an opponent. If blocked out, the A player must make an effort to return immediately. If he goes out on his own (accidentally or intentionally), the foul is illegal participation and the spot of the foul is where he returns.

He is still eligible to receive a pass regardless of how he went out of bounds. (i.e. There is no illegal touching if he is first to touch a forward pass after going out of bounds on his own)

Bob M. Fri Oct 19, 2007 09:48am

REPLY: One clarification...if he goes out, realizes his mistake, and decides to stay out, there's no foul. The foul is in returning.

hawkishowl20 Sun Nov 16, 2008 04:52pm

What is the rule for NFL?

JugglingReferee Sun Nov 16, 2008 06:09pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike51 (Post 448163)
of bounds, either on his own or he is forced out by defender (blocked or pushed) and returns to the playing field. Can he legally catch a pass at any time during the down? is it illegal participation? where would any infraction from this scenario be penalized from?

This is kinda like the play from the Ole Miss / Alabama game on Oct. 13.

CANADIAN RULING:

If pushed or blocked to OB by an opponent, he is legal if he comes back in at the first opportunity to do so.

If he went out on his own, it is IP. 10 yards from PIB.

jontheref Sun Nov 16, 2008 09:11pm

I think in the nfl the prohibition becomes the first to touch. If he goes out of bounds then he then cannot be the first to touch the ball inbounds.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1