![]() |
Illegal shiftt?
I watched a game and the offense put a player in motion. The line then proceeded to go down into a three point stance. The motion back never stopped and the ball was snapped. Isn't that an illegal shift? What rule pertains to this situation. Thanks
|
This is illegal. The linemen going to a 3-point stance is a shift, and all 11 players have to come to a halt for one second after a shift.
It is probably illegal motion (for the guy staying in motion after the shift), not illegal shift (the linemen shifted legally) - but let's not get into that discussion again! :) Either way - its a foul at the snap and 5-yards from the previous spot. |
Illegal shift.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47am. |