The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NCAA Rules Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38854-ncaa-rules-question.html)

benbret Mon Oct 15, 2007 07:16am

NCAA Rules Question
 
I saw this play at a game Saturday and I was wondering if the R got it right. A's QB drops back to pass and is hit by B1. QB fumbles the ball. The QB goes for the loose ball and B2 tackles him so he can not get to the loose ball. R throws a flag and hits B2. B1 then recovers the fumble. R called holding on B2.
10 yards from the spot of the foul and gives the ball back to A. Is this correct?

JugglingReferee Mon Oct 15, 2007 07:44am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by benbret
I saw this play at a game Saturday and I was wondering if the R got it right. A's QB drops back to pass and is hit by B1. QB fumbles the ball. The QB goes for the loose ball and B2 tackles him so he can not get to the loose ball. R throws a flag and hits B2. B1 then recovers the fumble. R called holding on B2.
10 yards from the spot of the foul and gives the ball back to A. Is this correct?

CANADIAN RULING:

Loose Ball Interference. Penalty is AFD at Point of Foul to non-offending team. Result: A 1D/10 @ PF.

TXMike Mon Oct 15, 2007 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by benbret
I saw this play at a game Saturday and I was wondering if the R got it right. A's QB drops back to pass and is hit by B1. QB fumbles the ball. The QB goes for the loose ball and B2 tackles him so he can not get to the loose ball. R throws a flag and hits B2. B1 then recovers the fumble. R called holding on B2.
10 yards from the spot of the foul and gives the ball back to A. Is this correct?

The foul part is correct. The enforcement is not. Run ended behind the NZ so enforcement should have been from previous spot. What game was it?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1