The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Live Ball Treated As Dead Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38845-live-ball-treated-dead-ball.html)

MRIGUY Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:28am

Live Ball Treated As Dead Ball
 
A 2ND and 4 from own 22, drops back to pass, holding on A77 at 22. Pass is complete to A 48 on 30yrd line of B where A47 grasp and twist and will not let the face mask of B22 go. How would you enforce this? Do both penalties get enforced. Thanks

JugglingReferee Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:37am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MRIGUY
A 2ND and 4 from own 22, drops back to pass, holding on A77 at 22. Pass is complete to A 48 on 30yrd line of B where A47 grasp and twist and will not let the face mask of B22 go. How would you enforce this? Do both penalties get enforced. Thanks

CANADIAN RULING:
  1. Fouls prior to the LTG being reached are applied from the LS.
    • A 2D/14 @ A-12.
  2. A's facemask is a UR foul, which can also be applied.
    • A 2D/20 @ A-6.
  3. If A's facemask is ruled as Rough Play (which is possible given your description, the 25-yard foul is also restricted to ½ the distance to the goal, but the DQ cannot be declined).
    • A 2D/20 @ A-6.
So yes, in Canada, both fouls are enforced.

waltjp Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRIGUY
A 2ND and 4 from own 22, drops back to pass, holding on A77 at 22. Pass is complete to A 48 on 30yrd line of B where A47 grasp and twist and will not let the face mask of B22 go. How would you enforce this? Do both penalties get enforced. Thanks

FED

They're both live ball fouls. B will have the choice of which foul to accept, undoubtedly the hold at A22. If the face mask was deemed to be flagrant the offender could be DQ'd.

MJT Sun Oct 14, 2007 01:51pm

For a little explaination in NF.
The 2 live ball fouls (non being USC fouls) on A create a multiple foul. Only one foul can be enforced. Even if the FM is a PF FM, B will accept the hold. Why? The hold occurred during a loose ball play, so it will be enforced from the basic spot which is the previous spot. The hold was at the LOS, so the all but one enforcement spot is the same as the BS, while the FM is during a running play and will be enforced from the end of the run. Since the EORun was more than 5 yards from the PS, even if the FM is a 15 yarder, the 10 yard hold from the LOS is a better result for team B.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1