The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   rule 8-2-2 (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38820-rule-8-2-2-a.html)

FATUMP Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:48am

rule 8-2-2
 
team A throw a legal foward pass that is intercepted by team B. Before the change of possesion, Team A blocks below the waist. Team B returns the interception for a score. will team B decline this penalty to keep the score or will it be enforced on the try or kick off?

Jim D Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:22am

8-2-2 talks about plays where there is no change of possesion so no option to penalize on the kick off. B has to decline A's hold if they want the ball and the TD.

ChickenOfNC Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FATUMP
team A throw a legal foward pass that is intercepted by team B. Before the change of possesion, Team A blocks below the waist. Team B returns the interception for a score. will team B decline this penalty to keep the score or will it be enforced on the try or kick off?

Don't have my books with me, but I believe that if team A had fouled AFTER the change of possession, B would be allowed to keep the score and the penalty options.

Should be noted that this may be a state interpretation here in NC, and not necessarily applicable to your state. If I had my books and notes with me, I could tell you for sure.

JugglingReferee Fri Oct 12, 2007 01:22pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by FATUMP
team A throw a legal foward pass that is intercepted by team B. Before the change of possesion, Team A blocks below the waist. Team B returns the interception for a score. will team B decline this penalty to keep the score or will it be enforced on the try or kick off?

CANADIAN RULING:

An illegal block below the waist is not a major foul (it's a minor foul), and applying a minor penalty before a change of possession gives the ball back to the original offensive team, but (in this case) 10 yards back.

B will decline the penalty altogether to keep the TD. The R should not even consult with the B captain.

Bob M. Fri Oct 12, 2007 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Don't have my books with me, but I believe that if team A had fouled AFTER the change of possession, B would be allowed to keep the score and the penalty options.

Should be noted that this may be a state interpretation here in NC, and not necessarily applicable to your state. If I had my books and notes with me, I could tell you for sure.

REPLY: That's correct for Fed rules too independent of any NC interpretations.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1