The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   blooking rules in shotgun (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38771-blooking-rules-shotgun.html)

MRD Wed Oct 10, 2007 06:24am

blooking rules in shotgun
 
Has anyone heard of a rule abandoning the free blocking zone when the Q.b. is in the shotgun?

bigjohn Wed Oct 10, 2007 07:18am

Page 12 in the 2007 Casebook covers this.

2.17.2 Sit. E: A1 is in shotgun formation (scrimmage kick formation) lined up 7 yards behind the LOS ready to receive the snap. Immediately after the snap to A1, (a)A2 immediately drops & blocks B1 below the waist of (b) A2 rises, and slightly retreats as if to go in traditional pass blocking protection but then dive & blocks B1 below the waist. Both A2 & B1 were in the zone & on the LOS at the snap & contact happens in the zone.

RULING: Legal block in (a) & illegal in (b). It is legal for A2 to block B1 below the waist if the contact is made immediately following the snap when the QB is in shotgun. Any later, the ball is considered to have left the zone & the block is illegal.

TXMike Wed Oct 10, 2007 07:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRD
Has anyone heard of a rule abandoning the free blocking zone when the Q.b. is in the shotgun?

Under NCAA rules, the "zone" disintegrates as soon as the ball is touched outside of it so in a shotgun formation, the ball is going to be touched outside of it pretty fast.

phansen Wed Oct 10, 2007 07:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRD
Has anyone heard of a rule abandoning the free blocking zone when the Q.b. is in the shotgun?



I wouldn't call it abandoning the FBZ. This is the way I understand it. Since the QB (in shotgun formation) is not in the FBZ, he does not meet one of the requirements for low blocks in the FBZ, namely that the ball must be in the zone. That being said, we were told by our rules clinician that if the O-lineman cut on the initial surge when the ball is snapped and do not delay the low block it would be considered legal. Anything after the initial surge would draw a flag .

ljudge Wed Oct 10, 2007 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXMike
Under NCAA rules, the "zone" disintegrates as soon as the ball is touched outside of it so in a shotgun formation, the ball is going to be touched outside of it pretty fast.

I read an interesting ruling on this while studying the NCAA code.

A10 is in shotgun formation. The ball is snapped over A10's head. Guard A65 clips defensive tackle B76.

Ruling legal block since the ball had not yet been touched inside the rectangular area (nor has the ball yet been touched outside the area after being fumbled from inside the area.)

MRD Thu Oct 11, 2007 04:11am

thanks, big john

FeetBallRef Thu Oct 11, 2007 07:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRD
thanks, big john

Watch out, BigJohn is a coach...:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1