The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Advancing a fumble on 4th down. (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38496-advancing-fumble-4th-down.html)

js2397 Thu Sep 27, 2007 02:41pm

Advancing a fumble on 4th down.
 
I know in college and in the NFL that the only offensive player that can advance a fumble on fourth down is the player that fumbled but is this also a high school rule?

2. When on fourth down, before a change of team possession, a Team
A fumble is recovered in advance of the fumble by a Team A player
other than the fumbler, the ball is dead and returned to the spot of the
fumble. If the fumble is recovered behind the spot of the fumble by a
Team A player other than the Team A fumbler, the ball is dead at that
spot.

raiderfan Thu Sep 27, 2007 02:46pm

7.4.2 - if a fumble or a backward pass is caught or recovered by any player, he may advance

JugglingReferee Thu Sep 27, 2007 02:55pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by js2397
I know in college and in the NFL that the only offensive player that can advance a fumble on fourth down is the player that fumbled but is this also a high school rule?

CANADIAN RULING:

Anyone can recover a fumble at any time on any down.

MJT Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:34pm

[QUOTE=js2397]I know in college and in the NFL that the only offensive player that can advance a fumble on fourth down is the player that fumbled but is this also a high school rule?

QUOTE]

It is not a rule in NF.

txrefcshou Thu Sep 27, 2007 10:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by js2397
I know in college and in the NFL that the only offensive player that can advance a fumble on fourth down is the player that fumbled but is this also a high school rule?

2. When on fourth down, before a change of team possession, a Team
A fumble is recovered in advance of the fumble by a Team A player
other than the fumbler, the ball is dead and returned to the spot of the
fumble. If the fumble is recovered behind the spot of the fumble by a
Team A player other than the Team A fumbler, the ball is dead at that
spot.

In texas NCAA and HS yes it is a rule.

MD Longhorn Fri Sep 28, 2007 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by txrefcshou
In texas NCAA and HS yes it is a rule.

You're new here ... when they say "In High School", they mean "In High School except Texas and Massachusetts." Something we Texas refs have to get used to.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1