![]() |
Legal or Illegal Motion
I seem to recall reading an interpretation of this play. Does anyone recall seeing it?
Team A comes set. A21 goes in motion across the field. As he passes the QB, the QB gives a foot tap. Legal or illegal? |
Quote:
|
I posed a similar question last year. The difference was I had the QB standing when the receiver went in motion, the QB went under center, was set for at least a second and the ball was snapped while the receiver was still in motion. I argued this was an illegal shift (I even had an exact case to back me up), but I was blasted for being too anal on the rule and let it go. I no longer worry about it.
|
Wow..... this has raised my "huh"-level of US football to a new level. Forget about micro-managing the athletes every little body move and let them play!
|
I'm not going to have anything on that little movement. I know "by the letter of the rule" it is a IS at the snap but that it not the intent of the rule. JMHO.
|
Unless this foot tap had some effect on the defense, let it go. I've seen a shotgun snap with a man in motion that was prompted by the foot tap quite often - the tap being the signal to the center to snap it in about a second.
|
Dont' go looking for the fly poop in the pepper. Let this go.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
My point being the spirit and the intent of the rule is to set the offense for a second. Is the leg lift a way to deceive the defense? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Once again common sense should prevail. Let this go.
|
unless the QB only does this in certain situations that appear he is trying to draw the defense into the neutral zone, it is not something that should be called. If he only does it on 4th and less than 5 and is simulating a snap then it should be considered a false start.
as in this situation on the NFHS website interpretations SITUATION 4: Fourth and four on A's 35-yard line. K comes to the line in a scrimmage formation. After calling a few signals, A1 says "shift." All 11 players then make a movement. Some players move to a new position for a scrimmage-kick formation, while four interior linemen remain in place and move from a hands-on-thighs position to an upright position and finally to a three-point stance. RULING: This could be ruled a false start if the covering official(s) determine that it was designed to cause B to encroach. In judging the offensive team's intent, the officials should consider whether players move to a new position, the speed and abruptness of movement, down and distance and if any player pretends to have the ball or otherwise simulate action at the snap with the start of a play. (7-1-7; 7-2-6) |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07am. |