The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Ineligible or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38469-ineligible-not.html)

Simbio Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:54pm

Ineligible or Not?
 
Team A has a legal formation (5 lineman properly numbered and 7 man on the line of scrimmage.)

A74 lines up as a back, either as a tailback, fullback, or receiver. Is he ineligible by number and if so is there any exception?

Welpe Wed Sep 26, 2007 01:01pm

For High School, A74 is always an ineligible receiver by number, even if he is lined up as a back. There is no exception and he cannot "report as eligible".

waltjp Wed Sep 26, 2007 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Simbio
Team A has a legal formation (5 lineman properly numbered and 7 man on the line of scrimmage.)

A74 lines up as a back, either as a tailback, fullback, or receiver. Is he ineligible by number and if so is there any exception?

He's ineligible by number. The numbering exception applies on scrimmage kick formations, which allows teams to have less than 5 players numbered 50-79 positioned as linemen. FED Rule 7-2-5

raiderfan Wed Sep 26, 2007 04:12pm

Case book 7.2.5 situation D explains this.

JugglingReferee Wed Sep 26, 2007 05:41pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Simbio
Team A has a legal formation (5 lineman properly numbered and 7 man on the line of scrimmage.)

A74 lines up as a back, either as a tailback, fullback, or receiver. Is he ineligible by number and if so is there any exception?

CANADIAN RULING:

Players are ineligible by position (one of 5 interior linemen) or by number, or both (in most cases). To legally catch a pass wearing an otherwise restricted number (40s, 50s, 60s in Canada), the player will have had to report to the Referee before the play began.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1