The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Scrimmage Kick (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38269-scrimmage-kick.html)

Joek Sat Sep 15, 2007 04:42pm

Scrimmage Kick
 
K is on their own 10 yard line. It's 4th and 5 and they choose to punt. The punt goes up high and short. It is muffed by R on the 20 and recovered by K on K's 13 yard line (2 yards short of the first down). Whose ball is it?

jack015 Sat Sep 15, 2007 06:34pm

FUNDAMENTAL STATMENT: If R is first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the expanded neutral zone, if will be a 1st down for the team in possession when the down ends.

Long story short - 1st and 10 for the kickers where they recover the kick.

JugglingReferee Sat Sep 15, 2007 07:40pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Joek
K is on their own 10 yard line. It's 4th and 5 and they choose to punt. The punt goes up high and short. It is muffed by R on the 20 and recovered by K on K's 13 yard line (2 yards short of the first down). Whose ball is it?

CANADIAN RULING:

R's muff has no impact on our game. K still needs to gain yards. Result: R 1D/10 @ K-13.

Sidenote: we have a rule that says if the punt is short and coming down into a group of players (> 3), we are to blow it dead and R gets the ball at point the ball first hits the ground.

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 18, 2007 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
CANADIAN RULING:

R's muff has no impact on our game. K still needs to gain yards. Result: R 1D/10 @ K-13.

Interesting! When you informed me they'd eliminated the kick clause from the continuity-of-downs provision, I'd assumed they'd make an exception for the case where R touched the ball beyond the LOS.

What if R1 batted the ball from where it came down to a teammate as an onside pass attempt and K recovered, still without yards gained?

Robert

JugglingReferee Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
Interesting! When you informed me they'd eliminated the kick clause from the continuity-of-downs provision, I'd assumed they'd make an exception for the case where R touched the ball beyond the LOS.

What if R1 batted the ball from where it came down to a teammate as an onside pass attempt and K recovered, still without yards gained?

Robert

Oh sure, come up with a dandy why don't ya? :D Possession is something that I think can be misinterpreted incorrectly up here. If R1 bats the ball backwards, in a purposeful act, I think possession is established, and therefore the continuity of downs is broken. If R1 causes the ball to go backwards as a result of being a klutz and K recovers, yards still need to be gained. I believe that intent is the key.

ljdave Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:41pm

Scrimmage Kick
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jack015
FUNDAMENTAL STATMENT: If R is first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the expanded neutral zone, if will be a 1st down for the team in possession when the down ends.

Long story short - 1st and 10 for the kickers where they recover the kick.

Where are you quoting from?

jack015 Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:04pm

I nerver said that this was a word for word quote. I was paraphrasing.

2007 NFHS Rules, Page 79, II. DOWNS, 3.

"If R is first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, a new series will be awarded the team in possession at the end of the down, unless there was a foul before the kick and the penalty was accepted, or there was a double foul or there was an inadvertant whistle during the kick following the touching by R."

There are 49 Fundamental Statements listed on page 79 and 80 of the rule book. Knowing these and being able to apply them to a play situation will keep you out of a lot of trouble.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1