![]() |
Pass Play
NCAA rules:
Eligible A88 is pushed OOB immediately at the snap and attempts to return immediately. Ball is thrown to A88 while he is still OOB. A88 leaps, catches the ball, and throws the ball forward 3 yards to A80 who is in bounds. A80 runs for an apparent TD. A88 lands out of bounds after the catch and throw. Ruling? (I'm interested in the Fed ruling, although I believe it's a lot less complicated and a different answer there). |
Quote:
Now the thing that I just noticed is the landing OOB. But that doesn't really matter since in order to be OOB, he has to be touching something OOB. I say it's good. I will have to check my books. |
TD. We had this on our preseason quiz at our college clinic.
|
The "throw" is by rule a "bat" and the bat is legal as long as it was not a bat of a backward pass by A batted forward to gain yardage.
There is no requirement for A to "re-establish" himself inbounds ala basketball to become elig to touch the pass. This type of play and how we rule the airborne player is very ionteresting when compared to the new AR this year re an airborne player touching a free kick before it goes OOB. Apparently very different definitions apply. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20pm. |