The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Formation of an offensive line (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38028-formation-offensive-line.html)

Mango Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:12pm

Formation of an offensive line
 
Is it a legal formation (Georgia High School rules) to have an offensive line consists of a center, a left and right guard then two tackles to the right and two ends to the right of the tackles? That would be 7 players on the line nut no player covering up the left guard.

I can't find anywhere in my rule book where this is illegal but it seems there is something not right about the left guard being uncovered.

Thanks

jfurdell Wed Sep 05, 2007 12:39am

That's a legal formation.

In fact, if the left guard happens to be wearing a number other than 50-79, he's an eligible receiver b/c he's also on the end of the line. All the interior linemen are still ineligible by position.

Forksref Wed Sep 05, 2007 05:02am

How can you have 2 "ends" (on the right side) when one of them is covered up? The one on the inside is not an "end" and he is not eligible for a pass.

Robert Goodman Wed Sep 05, 2007 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forksref
How can you have 2 "ends" (on the right side) when one of them is covered up? The one on the inside is not an "end" and he is not eligible for a pass.

Right. I think too many observers of the game get caught up thinking in terms of "personnel" rather than position, and start confusing the two. That's how we hear of such things as "putting the tight end in motion".

Say the varsity catcher walks onto the football field. Doesn't matter how many times he's occupied the catcher's box during baseball season, you determine his football position at that moment.

Robert

JRutledge Wed Sep 05, 2007 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mango
Is it a legal formation (Georgia High School rules) to have an offensive line consists of a center, a left and right guard then two tackles to the right and two ends to the right of the tackles? That would be 7 players on the line nut no player covering up the left guard.

You are watching too much NFL Football. ;)

Peace

Texas Aggie Wed Sep 05, 2007 02:29pm

Quote:

if the left guard happens to be wearing a number other than 50-79, he's an eligible receiver b/c he's also on the end of the line.
This is NOT the case in NCAA. While the formation described IS LEGAL under NCAA rules, there is only one eligible receiver on the line here (assuming his number is not 50-79). 7-3-3.

I routinely have tackles uncovered at the end of the line. Guards are another story, but its no prob.

CO ump Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jfurdell
In fact, if the left guard happens to be wearing a number other than 50-79, he's an eligible receiver b/c he's also on the end of the line.

However,
Assuming the "inside receiver" was not wearing a number 50-79 then you would have illegal numbering

bigjohn Thu Sep 06, 2007 01:26pm

Mango, are you an official?
:rolleyes:

FeetBallRef Thu Sep 06, 2007 02:22pm

Unless a scrimmage kick formation, then the numbering requirements for 50-79 are off. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1