![]() |
Backwards pass
By NFHS rules, can a backwards pass by the QB ever be ruled intentional grounding? Or does grounding have to be on a forward pass?
|
REPLY: In Federation, no backward pass is illegal. Intentional grounding cannot be ruled on a backward pass. In NCAA however, a backward pass thrown out of bounds intentionally to conserve time is an illegal pass.
|
Appreciate the reply, thanks.
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
No. Deliberate grounding has two criteria that must be met:
|
Quote:
|
Since no backward pass is ever illegal, you therefore can always give up yardage to stop the clock.
For example, on what appears to be the last play of the game and the runner is going to get tackled short of the goal line inbounds with only 3 seconds left...and A has no more time outs...the runner can throw the ball backwards or even sideways OB and the clock will legally stop until the snap. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06am. |