The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Is it first-touching or dead? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/37787-first-touching-dead.html)

ljdave Sat Aug 25, 2007 10:17am

Is it first-touching or dead?
 
A scrimmage kick is beyond the NZ and rolling. It just comes to rest and a K player touches it. Immediately after, an R player grabs it and runs. Should we have killed it?

dvasques Sat Aug 25, 2007 07:01pm

yes?

MJT Sat Aug 25, 2007 08:29pm

NF - yes, if at rest and it is touched by K
NCAA - no, if at rest it remains live till K recovers it

BrasoFuerte Sun Aug 26, 2007 12:06am

Just a question. If the ball comes to a complete rest in the field of play after a scrimmage kick "punt" and R nor a K player has touched the ball does it still remain live or is it dead? I have been told different things regarding this and I am unable to locate in NFHS Football Rules Book a clear answer regarding this question.

Your help is appreciated

Oh, I forgot the kick has gone beyond the ENZ

MJT Sun Aug 26, 2007 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BrasoFuerte
Just a question. If the ball comes to a complete rest in the field of play after a scrimmage kick "punt" and R nor a K player has touched the ball does it still remain live or is it dead? I have been told different things regarding this and I am unable to locate in NFHS Football Rules Book a clear answer regarding this question.

Your help is appreciated

Oh, I forgot the kick has gone beyond the ENZ

4-2-2-e-2 the ball is dead when any loose ball "is on the ground and motionless and no player attempts to gain possession."

oHIolj Sun Aug 26, 2007 06:19pm

If the ball is JUST touched by K and it is still moving the play continues.. If the ball has come to rest and is touched by K blow the darn whistle and keep everyone out of trouble

dvasques Sun Aug 26, 2007 06:23pm

what if the ball is rolling, K touches it, the ball keeps roling but no R around. Then the ball stops and K touches it again. Do you ignore the first touch and kill the play where the ball stopped?

MJT Sun Aug 26, 2007 06:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dvasques
what if the ball is rolling, K touches it, the ball keeps roling but no R around. Then the ball stops and K touches it again. Do you ignore the first touch and kill the play where the ball stopped?

You would kill it when it did stop and was touched the 2nd time by K, but you'd better have a bean bag down where K touched it the first time, cuz that is the spot of first touching, and R can take it at that spot, or the spot K touched it the second time.

dvasques Sun Aug 26, 2007 06:33pm

it's R's choice? good to know


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1