The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   double foul, pass play (https://forum.officiating.com/football/36846-double-foul-pass-play.html)

Warrenkicker Fri Jul 27, 2007 08:28am

I think that the only way they could follow the enforcement rules we have is to call it USC. You are calling two fouls here as 15 yards is the biggest possible. So there is a 15 yard DPI and a 15 yard USC. If you called the second PF or something else then you would have multiple fouls and could only enforce one of them. By calling the second USC, you can enforce the second 15 yards without disagreeing with the rest of the rules book. However we do know that USC penalties are always enforced unless we can't determine the order of the fouls. In this case there was only one USC foul, even though it was a contact foul which causes us to not think of it as a USC. It was one act for which we are calling two fouls. In other situations when there are two fouls committed by one act we usually just call it the worse of the two.

So based on all other calls we make I would say that all of the fouls offset and we replay the down. However if this is truly USC, though it is not listed under 9-5, then it must be enforce as it can't be offset by another live-ball, non-USC foul.

Robert Goodman Fri Jul 27, 2007 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: I never really thought about this one. It's a really good question apart from the fact that almost no one has ever called or even seen intentional PI.

If it's that rare a call, why not just penalize it equitably as an unfair act? (Does Fed have that?) Equally rare, but instead of trying to figure out how the rules committee wanted it penalized, just let the ref decide what's fair.

Robert

Bob M. Fri Jul 27, 2007 04:33pm

REPLY: Yes, the Fed does have an Unfair Acts rule like the NCAA. However, it's limited to those acts for which there's no specific rule coverage. Intentional PI does have specific rule coverage, so we shouldn't be using the Unfair Acts rule in this case. Maybe it's not as clear as we'd prefer, but it does have coverage.

tskill Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:42am

Two things I would add:

1. USC is a non-contact foul so that's out

2. This year NFHS has defined a flagrant foul as: "a flagrant foul may or may not involve contact, but involves such acts as fighting, contacting a game official, fouls so severe as to place an opponent at risk, persistent or extreme abusive conduct and the use of vulgar language or gestures."

So, if you determine in your judgment that the act you are describing on the PI is "so severe as to place an opponent at risk" then you have a flagrant foul and boot the guy.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1