![]() |
Illegal Sub on a TD
A's ball 1st and 10 on B's 30. B25 is trying to get off the field but is not able to prior to the snap. B25 has just been replaced by B33. A snaps the ball and runs it for a TD.
We have Illegal sub here. But can A choose to take this penalty on the Kickoff? I'm thinking yes. Happy to hear any thoughts on this one. Dr.Moore |
REPLY: Sure can.
|
Canadian Ruling
Quote:
No; A has to choose between the TD and applying the penalty from PLS. |
In this example does A have the option to choose between taking the penalty for either the extra point or Kick-off? In the original post I thought the succeeding spot after the touchdown would be the try for extra point?
|
NCAA: must decline to accept score.
|
NFHS: New rule change.8-2-2 "When there is a foul by the opponent of the team scoring a touchdown, an enforcement option has been added. The offended team can accept the result of the play; choose to have the penalty enforced on the try; or choose to have the penalty enforcement on the free kick." Sounds like your situation meets this criteria.
|
I think the new rules applies to fouls that occur during the down, not the ones the occur with the snap.
|
This illegal substitution is during the down. 3-7-4
|
Quote:
|
O-K this is a foul during the down, that is a live ball foul. 3-7-4 Penalty
|
Quote:
|
Thanks MJT. Now I got the idea, but I still feel this would be able to be banked to the free kick. As NFHS does not differentiate.
|
While I understand what Andy is saying here, and while I think it probably would be the way to do things, I don't think we will be making that distinction. Granted there aren't very many fouls by the defense that are simultaneous with the snap but I don't ever see them asking us to make that distinction. I like the NCAA rule that only the 15 yarders carry over while all others are declined.
I see the IS in the original question being enforced on the kickoff. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59am. |