The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Coach´s questions (https://forum.officiating.com/football/32536-coach-s-questions.html)

Coach JN Wed Mar 07, 2007 03:38am

Coach´s questions
 
Hi guys

I am reading up on extra periods in the NCAA-rules from 2006. I can´t get my head around a few things(probably ´cause I´m a coach...). I have a few questions/scenarios for you guys.

1. During a extra period. Defence gains possession of the ball and advances it to the offenses 5y line. During the return a player from the the offensive team commits a personal foul. Next play?

2. Same as above, but on a try after a touchdown. Next play?

3. Same as #1, but the return is for a TD and the player comitting the foul is a defensive player. Next play?

4. Forward pass for a TD. Defense roughs the passer. Next play?

5. Missed fieldgoal attempt. Defense commits a Personal foul downfield, while the ball is in the air. Next play?

6. Same as above but the fieldgoal is good. Next play?

Thats all. I hope you have the time to enlighten a confused coach.

/Jan Nichewski - Czech Republic

jjrye22 Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:15am

Hi Jan,

There are others here with more experience than me, but I seem to be the first to respond. They will correct me if I make a mistake.
Important for most of these is
3.1.3.g.1. Distance penalties by either team are declined by rule in extra
periods (Exceptions: Dead-ball fouls and live-ball fouls penalized as
dead-ball fouls are enforced on the succeeding play).


1. The series has ended, and Team B begins its series on the
25-yard line.

2. Try is over. The series has ended, and Team B begins its series on the
25-yard line.

3. Score not allowed. The series is ended, and Team B begins its series on the
25-yard line

4. 6 points for A. Try.
I'm not sure if the distance in this case is cancelled! Try from B's 3 or B's 1 1/2

5. The series has ended, and Team B begins its series on the
25-yard line.

6. 3 Points for A. The series has ended, and Team B begins its series on the
25-yard line.

Note Rule 8 gives specific instruction "or from the succeeding spot in extra periods" for Try, but not for Field Goal.




Now that I have answered that accorfing to how I have read the book, I'm interested to know what the others have to say about the Field Goal penalties.

I don't mind being corrected - but please be gentle!


James

grantsrc Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:19am

Coach,
Another great resource that is available for officials (and a few coaches) is www.refstripes.com More NCAA officials there.
As for James's responses, off the top of my head they look to be accurate. But I am not an NCAA expert.
Good luck!

The Roamin' Umpire Wed Mar 07, 2007 06:43pm

I believe that in situation #6, team A may choose to take the points off the board and enforce the foul from the previous spot. See AR 10.2.2.XXIV

Bob M. Wed Mar 07, 2007 07:28pm

REPLY: Correct R-U on #6. Since PSK is not in effect during extra periods, this foul occurred during a scrimmage kick play for which the basic enforcement is the previous spot.

Coach JN Thu Mar 08, 2007 08:12am

Ok thanks for the input. But shouldn´t situation 5 result in the same option?

Another situation. Late 4th quarter. 2@8. Blocked FG attempt rolls out of bounds at LOS, after touching players from both teams. the kick never crossed the neutral zone. Who does the ball belong to? Is it 3@8 for Team A or 1@10 for Team B?

Bob M. Thu Mar 08, 2007 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach JN
Ok thanks for the input. But shouldn´t situation 5 result in the same option?

Another situation. Late 4th quarter. 2@8. Blocked FG attempt rolls out of bounds at LOS, after touching players from both teams. the kick never crossed the neutral zone. Who does the ball belong to? Is it 3@8 for Team A or 1@10 for Team B?

REPLY: Yes...situation #5 will have the same result although it's a no-brainer, whereas #6 requires the coach to consider whether he wants to take the points off the board.

For your other situation, it doesn't matter that the ball was touched by both teams or that it was 2nd down or that it never crossed the neutral zone. Any time a scrimmage kick goes out of bounds between the goal lines, it is dead and is awarded to the receiving team.

Coach JN Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:00am

Ok thanks.

Situation 4 again. Does anybody know whether it is going to be at B3 or B1,5?

jjrye22 Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Yes...situation #5 will have the same result although it's a no-brainer, whereas #6 requires the coach to consider whether he wants to take the points off the board.

But it is a no-brainer that I didn't put in my answer, so (looking at it like a test) my answer was not correct!

I agree about FG in the 4th quarter. Reasoning is already stated.

James


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1