The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2001, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Two weeks ago, I was FJ for an intramural flag football game. Team A had the ball 4th and long, and decided to punt. The ball was kicked, but due to the wind, it did not travel very far. The ball bounced off the ground, and then R1 touched the ball (trying to catch it), but he only tipped the ball up into the air. K1 then caught the ball, and ran short of the line-to-gain. Our crew ruled that because K did not reach the line-to-gain in four downs, it was R's ball.

My questions are:
(1) Was this correct - team A/K needs to reach the line-to-gain no matter what?

(2) Would the situation be any different had R caught the ball and then fumbled it?

I'd like to know what the rulings would be under NF and NCAA rules, if possible.

Thanks.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1