![]() |
ITS 4TH DOWN AND A TEAM TRIES A FIELD GOAL FOM R'S 40 YD LINE. THE ATTEMPT IS NO GOOD AND THE BALL ROLLS OUT OF BOUNDS AT THE 3 YD LINE UNTOUCHED BY EITHER TEAM. WHERE IS THE BALL SPOTTED FOR THE NEXT SERIES?
|
NFHS Rules
Quote:
2- Stop screaming! Turn off the caps, will ya? :) 3- A FG attempt is no different than a punt 3 yard line. |
In a attempted field goal from the 40 yd line on 4th down that goes out of bounds untouched at the 3, will come back to the 40 yd line. Rule 8-4-2.
|
Quote:
|
Yes, I was refering to the NCAA rules. Thanks for reminding me!
|
What can happen
Some things can happen on a FG attempt.
1. Successful, and kicking team gets 3 points 2. Failed and the kick reached the goal line, Touchback and R gets the ball at the 20 3. Failed and the kick never got to the goal line where it was downed or went OOB. R gets the ball where downed or OOB 4. Failed and R caught and returned the kick, and R gets the ball at the end of the run. 5. Blocked, K or R can advance if recovered in or behind the NZ, R can advance if recovered beyond the NZ. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59am. |