The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2001, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 7
NF: A1 has the ball on their 20. A1 throws a pass that is intercepted by B1 on 50. B1 runs to the 45 and throws ball(flag is thrown and spot of foul is bean bagged) forward towards B2, but A2 steps in and catches thrown ball and runs for a TD. What is the ruling? I can't find anything in the case book. What if this happened on Kickoff? Where ball is pitched forward and K intercepts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2001, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
The illegal forward pass by B1 following a change of possession is a live ball foul. Since it was intercepted in flight, the ball remains live and the play continues, just as it would following any other live ball foul. The ball becomes dead when A2 enters B's end zone with the ball in his possession. A would decline B's foul and take the TD.

On a kickoff, the ruling would be the same. Because the kick ended when possessed by B1, K2 would be permitted to advance the interception of B1's illegal forward pass. TD for K.

By the way, why is there a flag and a bean bag? A flag marking the spot of the foul is sufficient.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2001, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 7
Only the flag should have been used. BJ gets bean bag happy at times saying it was for a point of reference.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1