![]() |
Nebraska vs. Auburn
You will have to seen the play to weigh in. There was a pass play in the endzone in the 3rd quarter.
1. Did you have dual control and a touchdown? 2. Did you have control by the defense then out of bounds, touchback? 3. Did you have an incomplete pass? I personally had an interception by the defense. I though it was curious that this was not reviewed. |
My first reaction was that it was an interception and touchback. Replay appeared to confirm that. After both players went out of bounds the offensive player appeared to gain possession of the ball.
I'm assuming the play was reviewed. If I recall, Nebraska had already used it's one allotted coaches challenge, otherwise they might have used it there. Bottom line: I wasn't on the field and the covering officials appeared to me to be in excellent position to make the correct call. |
NCAA rules on simultaneous catch is quite different than NF. Here is the NCAA AR rulings.
II. Two opposing players receive a legal forward pass while both are off the ground, and both players return to the ground inbounds at the same time. RULING: Simultaneous catch; the ball is awarded to the passing team (Rule 2-2-8). III. Two opposing players receive a ball while both are off the ground, and one player returns to the ground inbounds before the other. RULING: No simultaneous catch. The legal forward pass is completed or intercepted by the player who first returned to the ground (Rule 2-2-8). |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39am. |