![]() |
Iowa-Texas Penalty
I was watching the Iowa-Texas game when Iowa had a 2nd and goal from the Texas 9 yard line late in the first half leading 14-3. I saw the TE lined up as a wing back on the left side and then go in motion. When he got to the right side of the line, he stepped forward and clearly established himself as a lineman. I thought that was odd since I was pretty sure he had been lined up in the backfield on the other side. I assumed maybe the wing receiver on the right side stepped back to be off the line.
The QB rolled right bringing everyone with him. He then turned and threw back to a wide open receiver in the end zone. Guess what...it was the tight end who turned out to be covered up. Either he was supposed to be off the line or the wing was supposed to step back. Replays clearly showed it was the right call...no question about it. Iowa threw an interception on the next play and Texas marched down to score a TD right before the half. They just scored again to go ahead 20-14 midway through the third quarter. The play obviously had a huge impact on the game. I assumed the call would be discussed on the Iowa discussion boards and I was correct. They are definitely seeing the play through Hawkeye colored eyes. They claim it was a ticky tack call that never gets called. I tried to post a message indicating it was an easy call, the correct call, and would be called every time. I enjoyed the innocent ignorance of the fans: Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
I saw the play. The correct call was made.
The thing about this type of call is that the other team correctly formed their offense not to commit this foul. It would not be consistent to allow an illegal act to go without a flag thrown. Good on the officials, an oopsie on the players. It's their own fault. |
Quote:
|
I threw something up there tonight. As a Sooner fan tough sitting in the bars today, hate the hawks and the horns. but it will be quieter in these parts since the hawks lost.:D
|
There were several people who eventually posted comments defending the correct call. Someone tried to post an exerpt from the rule book but only posted the definition for players on the line of scrimmage. They didn't include sections defining eligible receivers or backs. Anyone who posts that was a judgement call that rarely gets called is definitely not knowledgeable about the rules. That's one of the easier calls for a wing official and gets called every time.
|
I responded. I'm sure I'll ge slammed! :)
|
While there is some judgement on virtually all calls, this one is easy. This one is a simple "daylight" call. If you're looking down the line and don't see "daylight" between the receiver "in the backfield" and the back end (excluding legs and feet) of the players who are legally on the line, then he's not in the backfield. As we know he's also not legally on the line (head must be breaking the line thru snapper's waist for that).
On this play IMO the receiver was in "no man's land", but regardless, he was not in the backfield, and the call was clearly correct. I don't believe that many non-officials understand the interplay of the 3 sections of the rules defining who's on the line and who's in the backfield. Most think that if you're not on the line then you have to be in the backfield, and that's just not the case. They don't understand the no-man's land area where you're neither on the line or in the backfield. |
Looks like Ferentz has seen the light -
From a news report: Coach Mack Brown said that Chandler being covered up is the reason he was so open. “When a guy’s covered up, you don’t cover him,” said Brown. Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz wasn’t so sure that Chandler was completely on the line. “I didn’t agree with the call, but it was a close call. It was a mistake we made,” said Ferentz, who also added: “The officiating crew did an outstanding job.” ================================================== = and from HawkCentral.com Controversial call proved pivotal By Andy Hamilton Iowa City Press-Citizen SAN ANTONIO -- The Iowa football team started 2005 by debating the validity of a controversial alignment penalty. The Hawkeyes ended the year the same way. Saturday's Alamo Bowl started to turn in the favor of the Texas Longhorns when a penalty negated an Iowa touchdown that could've put the Hawkeyes ahead 21-3 late in the second quarter. Instead of celebrating a 9-yard pass from Drew Tate to Scott Chandler, the Hawkeyes were left wondering if Chandler really was lined up illegally and how the game would've turned out had the penalty not been called. "It goes from putting us up 21-3 to 14-10 at the half," Chandler said. "That was probably one of the biggest plays of the game." The Longhorns rallied for a 26-24 victory. The penalty on Chandler was magnified when Aaron Ross intercepted Tate's next pass in the end zone, and the Longhorns then drove 80 yards for a touchdown. Chandler came in motion to the right on the play in question, and an official ruled he line up on the line of scrimmage. "Usually, when I come across, we're not going on a silent count, but because we were going with a silent count the timing's not exactly what it usually is," he said. "(The official) said when I was sitting there I jumped forward and reset on the line of scrimmage." Since the Hawkeyes had an outside receiver already on the line, Chandler was prevented from going downfield. He ran all the way back across the formation and Tate found the tight end wide open. "I thought it was a terrible call," Tate said. "There was no way he was up on the line of scrimmage. But we got screwed last year in the bowl and figured why not do it again? Those refs, maybe they saw something different. But I don't understand how it can't be reviewed." Alignment calls are not reviewable. But Chandler said he asked the official about the penalty later in the game. "He said, 'It was kind of ticky tack, but I had to call it,'" Chandler said. "He said he saw it on the replay and he was sure he was right." Iowa coach Kirk Ferentz said he had "no gripe" with the call afterward. "We didn't agree with the interpretation (at the time), but at halftime a couple of our guys upstairs saw it on replay and thought it was certainly a callable violation," Ferentz said. "It was a mistake we made on alignment and we took points off the board there. "I'll just say this, too: I thought the officiating crew did an outstanding job. It was a very well-officiated ballgame. That's good to know that wasn't a factor in the ballgame." |
The receiver wasn't in no-man's land (i.e. a mugwump), he was on the line but covered up by the outside wide receiver.
Only the offensive coordinator knows for sure which one was in the incorrect position, but it would be my guess the wide guy failed to lineup correctly. I'm sure we've all seen this in our games. Don't understand the officials comment about it being a ticky-tacky call. It's no more ticky than when the offense lines up with only 6-men on the line and that gets flagged without hesitation. |
Absolutely right, he was not a mugwump, he was on the line all the way.
The player himself has admitted he lined up wrong and blamed it on the fact they were using a "silent count" so his "timing" was off. And do any of us truly think an official told the player it was a "ticky tack call"??? |
I'm surprised no one has mentioned the announcers in the game. At the start of the second half they had an ex-NCAA official come in the booth and explain why the correct call was made. Further, they did a great job explaining the correct mechanic for when the 25 sec. clock is not working. I was in shock.
|
That was actually an active official, Roger Gaskamp, Southland and Big XII conferences.
I would not be surprised if Spielman, one of the heads, got tons of mail/email last year as he was merciless on the officials all during the bowl season. He probably realized he had made an arse of himself and intended to do better this year. Those cards and letters might be working, keep 'em coming. I'd still like to know if the B was waiting till 5 seconds were left before signalling or he used the CCA mechanic and did it at 10 seconds. |
Quote:
|
It certainly was not all games last season. Unknown if it is this season or not. There were several games last year that would have been great opportunitites for clarification but there was none.
|
http://home.sc.rr.com/mitt/alamoChandler.jpg
got this off the hawkeye board the poster has put in the redlines to show where the players were lined up. as officials i think we all see this as a no brainer easy call |
Lets discuss another aspect of the picture BoBo posted.
It involves the slot receiver (second receiver in from the right). Knowing your NCAA definitions to the tee, would you say from this picture that he is a lineman or is he a back? |
Hard to tell for sure from the angle but seems his head is not breaking snapper's butt so he is not a lineman. His head may be breaking 87's butt which would prevent him from being a back and thus causing him to be a mugwump. That being said, I hope most wings would not be that technical here and would judge him to be a back.
|
Exactly my thinking, this would be an example of a ticky-tack foul call when an official is just looking to toss a flag.
By the book, his positioning is "suspect" if I may borrow a phrase from Dave Parry's video's |
Oh, for a second there I thought it was the slot right receiver who was being questioned. That guy is clearly off. Now, I see the supposed tight end. In the pic, it isn't clear where his head is. If his head goes down any, he's clearly broken the waist of the snapper and is on the line. If he stays upright, its unclear for sure. Either way, I have him on the line.
|
I searched for a video of the play on You Tube, I couldn't find it but I did find this video. It shows how the officials cost Iowa their bowl game last year. I know it is off topic, but it is pretty amusing watching the replays and listening to the TV announcers.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=N7vRYakQgkI |
Sometimes, several close calls can go against a team in a single game. It happens, doesn;t mean anyone screwed up or cheated as fans suggest.
But somebody definitely screwed up the facemask foul. I guess whoever threw the flag got his numbers confused but it was definitely a foul by the UF player. |
http://mb25.scout.com/fiowafansfrm2....ID=25977.topic
here is the link to the iowa message board if you can go there and have at it i am done trying to be reasonable to these idiots. |
Quote:
I'll agree if someone is close I'll give him the benefit of the doubt but have a talk with him. He wasn't even close. These players are so well coached that formation just doesn't happen often accidentally. It does happen intentionally but that "covered" player usually stays in to block or it's a running play. |
You have a lot of guts to take on fans on a fan board BoBo :D
That's the last kind of place I'd go even to read! Let'm rant all they want. |
Living here in Iowa and being a Sooner fan (tough one last nite) I have no problems defending the men in stripes. In fact a couple of local radio guys call me quite frequently during the season when rulings come up. They both texted seconds after the play.
Boys if it is written in black and white in the rulebook it is pretty hard to argue against it. Never have had a love for the Hawkeyes or the Cyclones. Just trying to educate them a little.:cool: |
I am from IA, and a fan, but some of those guys on the fan boards are fricken morons!!! It was the right call by the officials, but some fans are like parents of players I've coached and see things thru glasses that seem to change the things their sons/daughters do and make them 10 times better than they really are.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm. |