The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
Kick Play

This play was posted in an NCAA forum at another discussion board. What would the FED ruling be?

"On fourth down from the 50-yard line, the offense punts. The short punt lands at the 30-yard line where it is touched by a kicking team player. The loose ball is scooped up by a receiving team player at the 20-yard line. During his return, a teammate clips at the 26-yard line. The ball carrier is hit and fumbles. An opponent picks up the fumbled football at the 27-yard line and runs for a touchdown. During his run, a teammate blocks an opponent in the back at the 18-yard line. What is the result of this play?"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Okay, I'll play since no one else will.

The first touching has no impact because R fouled after the touching. Because K got the ball with clean hands, they can decline R's foul and keep the ball. K's ball, 1st and 10 from the 28 yard line.

Anybody else see it differently?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Nope, looks good to me.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 05:42pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby
This play was posted in an NCAA forum at another discussion board. What would the FED ruling be?

"On fourth down from the 50-yard line, the offense punts. The short punt lands at the 30-yard line where it is touched by a kicking team player. The loose ball is scooped up by a receiving team player at the 20-yard line. During his return, a teammate clips at the 26-yard line. The ball carrier is hit and fumbles. An opponent picks up the fumbled football at the 27-yard line and runs for a touchdown. During his run, a teammate blocks an opponent in the back at the 18-yard line. What is the result of this play?"
Let's see...

R fouled after K's first touching, so R cannot take possession of the ball at the spot of first touching.

K would decline R's clipping to keep the ball.

Penalize K 10 yards for BIB from the R18.

K's ball, 1/10 at R28.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
I was under the assumption that once the ball touched a player from the kicking team, the ball is dead where it was last touched at. Am I wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2006, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
You'd be right if the ball was at rest (NF). I think we all assumed (I know I did) that the ball was still moving around.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 07, 2006, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Let me ask a question since I don't have my books with me...

I understand that the first touching is ignored when there is a foul by R, but is that still the case when R's foul is declined?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 07, 2006, 03:25pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Let me ask a question since I don't have my books with me...

I understand that the first touching is ignored when there is a foul by R, but is that still the case when R's foul is declined?
Yes, R still loses the right to take the ball at the spot of first touching if:

1. R commits a foul during the down, or
2. The penalty for any foul is accepted during the down.

6-2-5
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 07, 2006, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Appreciate it
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 07, 2006, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Yes, R still loses the right to take the ball at the spot of first touching if:

1. R commits a foul during the down, or
2. The penalty for any foul is accepted during the down.

6-2-5
I believe your number 1 should say, "R commits a foul after touching a kick that was first touched by K." If R committed a foul BEFORE they touched a kick that was first touched by K, and the penalty for that foul was declined, R would still have the right to take the ball at the spot of first touching.

Last edited by Kirby; Tue Nov 07, 2006 at 04:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 07, 2006, 04:20pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby
I believe your number 1 should say, "R commits a foul after touching a kick that was first touched by K." If R committed a foul BEFORE they touched a kick that was first touched by K, and the penalty for that foul was declined, R would still have the right to take the ball at the spot of first touching.
You are correct - the all-important word in the rule, I believe, is "thereafter," when referring to the events of R touching the kick and foul commission by R.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 07, 2006, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
can anybody point me to the rule which explains penalty enforcement when there are changes of posession?

better yet, are there any resources on the net that "teach" you this concept such as a power point or something else?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
another kick play MJT Football 12 Tue Aug 22, 2006 09:07pm
Scrimmage Kick Play jack015 Football 4 Sat Aug 19, 2006 07:57am
Scrimmage Kick Play with IW jack015 Football 18 Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:31am
Trick play on kick-off jmuench Football 3 Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1