The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Nfhs (https://forum.officiating.com/football/29283-nfhs.html)

agr8zebra Sat Nov 04, 2006 08:30pm

Nfhs
 
Can the Kicking team advance a muffed punt by R?

JRutledge Sat Nov 04, 2006 08:35pm

No.

Peace

BktBallRef Sat Nov 04, 2006 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by agr8zebra
Can the Kicking team advance a muffed punt by R?

It depends on where the recover it.

Behind the NZ, yes.

Beyond the NZ, no.

agr8zebra Mon Nov 06, 2006 03:49pm

Do you know the rule that applies. I have been searching but with no luck.

Bob Mc Mon Nov 06, 2006 03:52pm

You would find that in Rule 6. 6.1 covers Free Kicks 6.2 covers Scrimmage Kicks. Specifically you're looking for 6.2.2

sj Mon Nov 06, 2006 04:49pm

I don't have my book with me but look in the section concerning what causes the ball to become dead in rule 4.

agr8zebra Wed Nov 08, 2006 06:05pm

Thanks guys... The best was 6.2.4, where K can recover a scrimage kick. It doesn't say they can advance it. Am I correct this is the best ruling?

sj Wed Nov 08, 2006 06:30pm

4-2-2f.....The ball becomes dead and the down is ended when....(f) When the kickers catch or recover any free kick anywhere, and when the kickers catch or recover a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone and when the kickers are first (i.e.before any touching by the receivers) to touch a scrimmage kick after it has come to rest beyond the neutral zone and between the goal lines.

So if they recover it beyond the neutral zone the ball is dead so they cannot advance it. There is nothing that says the ball is dead if they recover behind the neutral zone so it is still a live ball and they can advance it.

Theisey Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:16pm

consult your case book... 6.2.3.Sit A, Sit B


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1