The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2006, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Please clarify a call

First off I'm not a football official - any insight from the pros on this particular penalty assessment would be helpful.

While watching NCAA football this past weekend I recall a ruling that I was not aware of:
Team A has 2nd &12 and attempts a pass that falls incomplete. During the play a Team B player is flagged for a 5yd minor face-mask against the QB.

The white cap's call is for a 5 yard markoff from the previous spot and "due to the ball crossing the line 'o scrimmage" - it was an automatic first down. I thought it would have been 2nd & 7. Any clarification is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Please Clarify: Official's Gear WrestleRef Wrestling 1 Thu Nov 27, 2003 10:16pm
Let me clarify the situation on my player being touched CoaachJF Basketball 7 Wed Feb 26, 2003 07:07am
Please clarify this for me. dhamby6187 Softball 7 Wed Apr 24, 2002 09:28am
please clarify the admin of free throws NFHS ronjay42 Basketball 9 Thu Apr 06, 2000 12:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1