The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   RTP passed the LOS (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28782-rtp-passed-los.html)

mcrowder Tue Oct 10, 2006 03:15pm

RTP passed the LOS
 
Posting this to prove a point. NCAA rules (although I am interested if the FED rule differs - don't think it does).

A ball on the A20. Passer rolling out, passes deep just as he's about to cross the line of scrimmage - still admiring his beautiful spiral ("Ball's away don't hit him..." -- SMACK) as he's clocked 2 steps later by B77 at the A24, you flag the obvious RTP. Pass is incomplete.

Enforcement spot?

FootballRef05 Tue Oct 10, 2006 03:20pm

15 yards from previous spot & auto 1st.

FootballRef05 Tue Oct 10, 2006 03:20pm

15 yards from previous spot & auto 1st.

The Roamin' Umpire Thu Oct 12, 2006 05:44pm

FED 9-4-4 has very little to say about where the passer is <b>after</b> the ball has been thrown - he's still a passer, you still can't clobber him unless he moves to participate in the play. As previously noted, enforce from previous spot 15 yards. First down for A.

Glancing at the NCAA rules, I see nothing that would create a different ruling.

So... what's the catch?

Texas Aggie Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:40pm

NCAA: same as Fed.

RoyGardner Fri Oct 13, 2006 05:15am

Under NCAA rules RTP is a "basic spot" enforcement, therefore on this play 15 yds previous spot automatic 1st down. If the pass is completed beyond the NZ then its 15 yds tacked on to the end of the last run, automatic 1st down.

Two Call Fri Oct 13, 2006 08:05am

Unless I'm missing something, you've got offsetting fouls - the passer was beyond the line when he got roughed.

Two Call Fri Oct 13, 2006 08:06am

Duh! Sorry. Misread the original post. Yes the enforcement spot is the previous spot in NFHS.

mcrowder Fri Oct 13, 2006 08:54am

This was to prove a point. A fellow official insisted that since this foul occurred beyond the LOS, that it should be enforced from that spot, and not the previous LOS. Thanks guys.

Bob M. Fri Oct 13, 2006 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
This was to prove a point. A fellow official insisted that since this foul occurred beyond the LOS, that it should be enforced from that spot, and not the previous LOS. Thanks guys.

REPLY: Now there's a guy who needs to get his head back into the rule book.

simpson Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:17am

This is a great example for all those officials who insist penalty enforcement is always, "whatever hurts them the most." I'm sure McCrowder's official was doing the same thing.

JugglingReferee Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:55am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
Posting this to prove a point. NCAA rules (although I am interested if the FED rule differs - don't think it does).

A ball on the A20. Passer rolling out, passes deep just as he's about to cross the line of scrimmage - still admiring his beautiful spiral ("Ball's away don't hit him..." -- SMACK) as he's clocked 2 steps later by B77 at the A24, you flag the obvious RTP. Pass is incomplete.

Enforcement spot?

UR = 15y from PLS, AFD.

Stripe Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:07am

Now, if the QB pitches to the HB and HB throws the ball, you can still have roughing the passer right?

MJT Fri Oct 13, 2006 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stripe
Now, if the QB pitches to the HB and HB throws the ball, you can still have roughing the passer right?


Yep! It is RTP not RTQB, so whoever is the passer gets the protection as long as it meets the requirements.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1